We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Premier Suites(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Burton Arms Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Abel Heywood(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
610
672
195
43
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
672
195
43
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern quarterbeanscity centrestayed hereeuro car parkhuge showerminute walkfree breakfastsofa bedyogurtthe breakfast areavictoria stationwould stay againmodern hotelsat navbars and restaurantsthe crowne plaza
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel is new and the fixtures and fittings done to a reasonable standard it just lacks a bit of nicety for the price you pay.

Location is very central and easy access from victoria, shudhill, metro or free bus.

Breakfast was particularly poor. Cheap sausages, watery scrambled eggs, hard beans, no bacon, cheap salty bread, tiny croissants, only one kind of milk and worst of all just tetley tea. Also finding a table for breakfast was almost impossible but when you do it won't be clean, bits of other people's half eaten breakfast everywhere.

The staff were all rushed off their feet which they shouldn't be blamed for, although they were quite rude at checkout through stress.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors facing away from the city towards Ancoats as this hotel is right in the Northern Quarter which is a busy night spot.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelson I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

I am sorry that you feel that breakfast experience was a poor standard during your stay as we have worked hard to improve the quality of the items served and you can see from the recent reviews that we have received positive feedback. It is disappointing that you found the team to be rude at checkout, this is unacceptable regardless of business levels and I apologise that you received less than excellent service. I wish to thank you for taking the time to feedback on the hotel and want to assure you and fellow travellers that this is far from our usual service standard. If you wish to contact me directly to discuss further please feel free to email michelle.lonsdale@hixmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Ultra modern room in this high rise hotel . Very comfortable beds.Parking is fine at one of the many private car parks to the east but probably not for safe enough to leave a new luxury brand overnight . The side of the hotel leads onto trendy street with quirky bars and restaurants and a short walk to the centre of the City .

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get good views of the City
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bench2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my sister . We arrived early but could check in at eleven which was great . Fab bed and bathroom . All very clean . Great location for city centre . Only drawback is the mirror .... No mirror above desk area . Only one near bed .... Not ideal for hair or make up as very dark and awrarked when sharing a room !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A great place to stay, perfect location for attending the Robbie concert. Bedroom & Bathroom are clean & a good standard - shower was fantastic. Breakfast was buffet style and a good standard but extremely busy with few tables available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellykins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just come back from Manchester having stayed there for our daughter's graduation from MMMU. We booked the holiday inn express as it was fairly central and was a good price. The hotel was a bit difficult to find initially (even though my daughter has lived in Manchester for 3 years) -its tucked away down a side street. We were early but the man on the reception desk was very helpful and we were able to check in. The rooms were very clean and the staff were really nice, polite and helpful. Breakfast was really good - lots of choice and all fresh. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend stay in Manchester

Room Tip: At the moment there is some building work on one side of the hotel so if you wanted to sleep in during the week be aware the work starts at 8am though to be fair the staff told us about this and made sure we were away from it. (No pool- I ticked it by mistake and can't delete it!)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burghheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews