We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A little difficult to find with sat nav as some roads are closed and my sat nav wanted to go the wrong way up some streets.
The hotel is clean and quite well appointed being quite new. Rooms are smallish but big enough for a couple of nights. The shower in our room was very stylish black n white, just like home. Bedding was clean and crisp and made up each day by plesent staff.
Breakfast is good with plenty of choice for short stays but can get busy at about 9ish.
Be careful parking as I got into the wrong one but as I was chatting to the attendant the day before I left he remembered me asking about it and didn't fine me.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as there is some nearby building works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as it was the most reasonably priced hotel near the men arena. Arrived early and there was a room ready for us.
Staff were pleasant and room was very clean. Free wifi was a bonus.
Bed was a little uncomfortable, very soft and hard to get a good nights sleep.
Overall was a good stay and would recommend it to others if you want to be close to the shopping areas.










Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank darren1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We used this hotel as it was close to the Phones4U (formerly MEN) Arena, and found it to be a most suitable and convenient location.
The hotel was up to the normal standards for the chain: clean, comfortable and perfect for short breaks, though not luxurious.
The rooms were very clean, with beds and bedding of high quality. Staff were pleasant. Breakfast was fine, though the sausage and scrambled egg could be better cooked. Parking was nearby and a discounted rate was available to hotel guests. There was free wifi, of a speed which allowed checking emails and browsing the web, but was not adequate for listening to the radio.
Overall, a good value, reliable hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireGenealogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel can be overrun by Chinese or Indians during the week so get to your breakfast early.
Breakfast us free but poor quality sausages and scrambled eggs made from a pre packed mixed make possibly one to miss ... except if you are on a diet!
You get anything missing on your breakfast table with a quick dash to the Spar 10 metres away.
The room is clean and as described on the website. Dont expect anymore.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Madamelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank You for taking the time to feedback on your stay at the hotel. As a worldwide recognised brand we welcome a mixture of domestic and international travellers. We do have peak times for breakfast and ensure our guests are made aware of this however this is the first time I have been made aware of any guests raising the concern you mention. I am sorry that you found the quality of breakfast to be of a poor standard and you found the hotel to be “average”. We strive to provide an exceptional service at all times and hope that your experience does not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I , stayed for one night . Room was excellent , clean and modern , all the facilities needed . If you want to want to stay in Manchester City centre - ideal !!
Buffet breakfast was more than adequate , ideal location ( although we did have some trouble finding it ) , For less then £70 for 2 with Breakfast - Just right !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 1 night and was pleased by the location (right near city center), price (<£70 per night), and amenities - English style franks and beans breakfast included, free wifi, and nice modern rooms. For this driving, discounted parking (£7/day) is nearby as part of the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'm afraid that I don't like staying in hotels that have no natural ventilation like this one, had I being aware I would not have booked this. It's important for hotels to advise their customers of the type of ventilation available. I was travelling with my wife on a weekend break to Manchester and we both do not like to have the air-conditioning on so we had to endure two nights of being closed in with no natural ventilation. The free-wifi advertiswed all over the hotel is a joke, it's slower than dial-up and useless even for browsing the latest news headlines, if you want "normal" speed access to the web you have to pay. The shower although well appointed had ridiculously poor water pressure that made our washing uncomfortable. And finally the room was aparently a family rpoom with a sofa bed but even so was very small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and for your feedback. I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations of our hotel. As you have mentioned our windows do not open, there are a few reasons for this but mainly for security & safety. All our rooms are fitted with air-conditioning and there is an extractor in the bathroom which helps remove warm air. You would be happy to hear that we are currently in the process of up grading our free Wi-Fi to even fast speeds in the next few weeks. We normally get very good comments regarding our showers so I was surprised to read this. I have asked my Maintenance team to look into this issue. Once again I am sorry that there were some aspects of your stay you didn't enjoy and hope that they will not deter you from staying with Holiday Inn Express Hotels in the future. Best Regards Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#65 of 120 in Manchester
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £68 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing