We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very clean and tidy and a helpful team! couldn't have asked for more..... Only down side was the 8.30 am wake up call when the maid wanted to clean the room which got a grumble that early on a sunday morning. But i was as much to blame not putting the Zzzzzz card on the door. I didn't eat breakfast as I'm not a breakfast person but it did look nice and there was plenty there. Car parking we used the secure nap one across the road as there was a couple of broken-into cars in the yard they recommend for £5, cost us £15 but is maned 24 hours and very secure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matty132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice modern rooms, especially the bathroom which was excellent. WiFi worked well in the room and the bed was very comfortable. Avoid 1st floor rooms above the restaurant if you can as you can hear the music until quite late and it starts up again at about 7am ish. Other than that I enjoyed my stay and would come again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank ecfc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

1st time I've stayed here and wasn't disappointed. Helpful friendly staff on arrival and fast check in. Lovely clean, spacious rooms. Stayed here as we were going to a comedy gig in the MEN (5 minute walk away) so ideal place to stay. The hotel would have been perfect if it had its own car park but apart from that it was perfect. Will definitely be staying here again :o)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshchick75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for concert and shopping. Good location but could have warned people about building work outside. Breakfast cold/bland and boring. Nice clean room and good shower. Staff nice on reception. Price a bit dear for what you get

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed for a week for work and checking in on a Sunday evening on a busy night meant we were given "accessible" rooms. I said I did not want a bathroom with padded seats and handles everywhere but that was all they had. Whilst the room was to a good standard, a noisy air con (either on or off) and an "emergency" light by the door meaning the room was not dark left me with very little sleep. I could not have stayed another night. However, the next day they were able to change my room and my new room was great. Dark and quiet! The rooms are to a good standard with a smart bathroom with a good shower. The kettle set up in my room was a little fiddly with it being in a small alcove - could imagine someone gets a steam burn or similar if they are not careful. Location wise, the northern quarter is the funky end of town and it is just steps away from bars and places to eat. The only downside is the parking - there is none. Even pulling up outside is a bit awkard with the building works going on. There is an open car park 2 mins walk which was less than a fiver a night which the reception will give you a ticket for. (Beleive the printworks car park is more secire and it's not too far away.)
The reception area is small and there is a bar although never seemed busy, and appeared to lack any atmosphere - although with so many other places nearby, it's no loss. Never tried the breakfast, a colleague stayed there the week before, and didnt rate it so gave it a miss. With a very reasonable rate, the fact there is any breakfast is impressive!
I would go back, but I would have to be assured that I was given a standard room (and a smile at check in wouldn't go amiss guys!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mart_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed her last week for two nights ... was really impressed and would stay again without any hesitation.
ROOMS - lovely, warm, comfortable, and nice bathroom and showers.

AREA - and location spot on! They are putting alot of money into this area and there are some superb quirky bars/restaurants 2 min walk away. There is a large 'spar' shop next door and the hotel is happy for you to bring food in ... they even offer you a chance to order local take away service (as long as you are in reception to collect it) There is building work going on next to the hotel BUT it did not bother us at all.

BREAKFAST ... mmmm suppose a typical of this type of Hotel breakfast ... Basic and quick!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rioYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Good location ,nice clean, modern rooms free breakfast lets it down, scrambled egg, sausages and beans, that's it. I know its free but come on. Fantastic for "Band on the Wall". Nice friendly staff, are staying again in April, a bit on the expensive side, small beds, but quite comfy, parking nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEDDYBEAR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £69 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing