We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #30 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellently run holiday inn express, stayed there Thursday and Friday this week and have nothing but praise for this hotel. The star among the staff was Duean
He that could not do enough to make your stay perfect.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lynette080660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have used this hotel before when going to a concert at Manchester Arena. It's a short walk to the Arena and the Printworks so it is now our hotel of choice when staying in Manchester - especially on a budget. We had to pay more this time probably because it was a weekend and also Michael Bublé in residence nearby.
The check in was quick and easy, the room was spotless and comfortable for our overnight stay. The bathroom is lovely with a large shower - really good for a hotel at this price.
We both slept fine, beds comfy and no noise from guests or roads, etc.
Breakfast the next morning was good, I only had crossiants but my hubby had toast, sausage and scrambled egg and enjoyed it.
We would definitely use this hotel again when returning to the arena!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazzySparkyPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is central to everything you want to do in Manchester. Only a 5 min walk from MEN. 2min from Arndale. Lots of restaurants, bars close by. Friendly staff. Clean comfy room. Big shower. Good value. Definitely use again and recommend to friends staying over for shows.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I would highly recommend to stay in this hotel. It is located near the city center and the university. The rooms were very peaceful, the staff very professional and friendly. It was excellently cleaned. And even the breakfast was free. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesta_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent stay and great feedback. I am very happy to read that you had a nice stay and found our rooms to be peaceful and our staff professional and friendly. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for a concert room very modern aircon good clean vibe bathroom was stunning with massive shower reception helpful with printouts of local restaurants with discounts for hotel guests breakfast was excellent very clean would stay again. 10/10

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neng1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and 10/10 score. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I am glad you found our printouts with maps and restaurant recommendations useful. We are all looking forward to seeing your again soon.

Best Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at this hotel although I have visited others in the group - room was tidy and well maintained - bed comfortable - the only disappointment was the food for breakfast and the fact the staff were very slow clearing tables after guests had left the dining room

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank kenneth_hodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Mr Hodge

Thank you very much for your great feedback. I am happy to read that you liked our rooms and found that our beds where comfy. I am very sorry to heat that you did not have a great breakfast experience. It is an area we are continually improving and any shortfalls in service will be addressed with my team. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here with the Mrs so we could go out for a meal then a few drinks after for her birthday. Location is fantastic for access to the Northern Quarter bars & restaurants, the Arndale & the Arena.
Rooms and facilities are similar standard to the new premier inns, but marginally better. Check in & out was quick & un fussy. Rooms had everything we needed for an overnight stay, it's not the Hilton, but it's a third of the price! Only real complaint about the room was from the Mrs who thought the lighting was too gloomy to be doing her makeup and no mirror on the dressing table, but not the end of the world & no problem for me! Bathroom was very nice, spacious & clean with a very good powerful shower in a nice big enclosure
Breakfast despite being included was poor! the only hot options being beans (with loads of juice & not enough actual beans!), scrambled eggs (watery and oddly textured, probably microwaved) and sausages which were only just cooked and probably only contained about 30% pork! The buffet area is in a tiny galley room which is too small on a busy Saturday morning, people jostling for position everywhere.
I would stay here again because of the value and location, most definitely, but I won't be setting the alarm in time for the free breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jameshv10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £64 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing