We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay and close to arena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and close to arena”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert in February 2014. Check in was quick and easy. Check out was even easier. Staff were friendly. You can book a taxi from the reception or walk if you know the area. Room was spacious - twin room. Would defo recommend!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank littlebeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Beca

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your fantastic feedback. I am very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly. I have passed your comments onto my team and we all hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    615
    161
    40
    11
See reviews for
201
450
56
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed a week - hotel room good
Very clean and modern
No restaurant but loads near by but a bit rough on a night to leave hotel alone
Building work next door very very noisy and blocking the road outside
No car parking on site - discounted car park across very busy road
Shame hotel is great - complimentary breakfast ok - same everyday
Staff friendly - great for 1 night stay when building work finished

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblegum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in manchester for 1 night. Having had car problems and arriving at 5am we were greeted by waseem, who extended our check out time and went out of his way to find us a mechanic who was open all day on a Saturday as well as directions and slipped them under our door for the morning. Fantastic customer service. Credit to the hotel for his actions to go over and beyond.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nees507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This follows the usual HiExpress formula - average rooms, average price, good location. Actually, I love this location, tucked into the Northern Quarter with easy access to the shops and nightlife.

However, the "free" WiFi is as slow as a snail and failed on me (and everybody else) from about 4pm until the next morning. The premium internet is £4 a day, but this went down too! So, totally useless stay for business purposes because they didn't fix the problem quick enough.

To top things off, they ran out of newspapers at 8am and the bar area is not attended whatsoever, it relies on front of house staff who are too busy checking people in.

I can't gripe about the rooms or the location or the premises but poor basics make this a miss when in Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. I am very happy to read that you loved the location of the hotel. I am very sorry to hear that the internet outage effected your stay. Unfortunately the outage effected many properties in Manchester and was not isolated to just our hotel. An internet outage occurred on Wednesday 12/03 and was back up on the Thursday morning. Due to the issue being external and not due to the hotels service provider we had no control over the time it took to fix the problem. We offer free newspapers to all IHG rewards members and they can be collected from the desk. Once again I am very sorry that there were a few issues during your stay and hope that they will not prevent you from staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Booked as had tickets for a concert at the arena. 10 min walk from Piccadilly station and 10 min walk to MEN area.
Rooms were great, clean with a great modern bathroom.
Free breakfast was ok, it is free after all!
Would stay again x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleyWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Mrs Wells

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your previous visit to the Phones 4 U Arena. I am very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be "fab". We hope that you will choice our hotel again for your next trip to Manchester.

Best Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I selected this hotel as the location was excellent for attending the Phone4U Arena. The hotel was superb, the rooms had everything you need and spotless and buffet style breakfast catered for everyone. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating if they tried. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and definitely stay again. Well Done to all concerned.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roldan. Murcia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Excellently run holiday inn express, stayed there Thursday and Friday this week and have nothing but praise for this hotel. The star among the staff was Duean
He that could not do enough to make your stay perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lynette080660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.0 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing