We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but very difficult to find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #30 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hidden behind another hotel and beside some construction work we finally parked the car and walked to the hotel having glimpsed it down lots of one-way streets. This is a fairly new hotel and it is very clean and modern. We arrived on the wrong day and the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful in fitting us in and giving us an alternative car park choice. She gave us bus maps to get to Coronation Street and explained about the free breakfast. The room was very clean and the bed super comfy. The internet worked immediately. Breakfast was very tasty and even with another big party of tourists managed to keep everything stocked up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petali13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

One night stop over for business. Room was excellent, clean, spacious. Great shower cubicle. Efficient check in an check out, can't even grumble at the breakfast as it was included.

One minor downside was the noisy blown air cooling system. Even when turned off there was a faint almost 'alarm' noise, didn't stop me from sleeping however!

Location is excellent, right on to High Street, Northern Quarter with plenty of options for food and drink. No car park, but there is a spot 100 yards away charging just £5.00 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richie_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were there for three nights. Everything you need in. Top service, great rooms, comfortable beds. Great breakfast. I recommend that people should stay at this hotel. Located close to Arndale Shopping Center, Primark, H&M and other shops.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hjörleifur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just spent four nights at this hotel and were really impressed with everything.

When we checked in, the receptionist was polite, friendly and efficient. She asked us if we had a preference with regard to which floor we were on. I said the only preference was to be in a quiet part of the hotel, if there was such a thing. She put us on the top floor (no one walking above us!) and towards the end of the corridor so that few people walked past our bedroom door. This was more than we had expected.

The room itself was great: a good colour TV with Freeview channels, comfy beds, a good view and a huge shower unit. The bedroom was immaculate, as was the bathroom. Hand soap and shower gel were provided free of charge, so there is no need to bring your own. They provide complimentary WIFI, but they explain it is only for light use, and if you want a decent connection then you will have to pay, but it was adequate for our needs. The air conditioning was welcome.

The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast: choose from cereals, cooked breakfast (sausage, scrambled eggs, beans), apples, oranges, juice, mini croissants and mini pains au chocolat and toast. We didn’t experience any problems finding a seat or having to queue for plates, utensils or food. We went for breakfast at various times and had no trouble.

All in all, this was a great hotel that was within easy walking distance of the city centre, just 10 minutes walk away. This would be our first choice the next time we stay in Manchester.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooteq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Comfortable rooms, efficient service when requested extra pillows. Breakfast choice limited (cooked breakfast) and in a room that is short on space.
No car park but parking nearby, £5 for 24hrs.
Overall enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank well_travelled_lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we were staying for 2 nights at a very good rate. The hotel is central and close to the MEN and the Arndale shops just round the corner. A small store is located just opposite the hotel with a handy cash point and tram stops aren't far either. The room was clean and perfect with 2 single beds. If you want to order a takeaway or get it delivered, the hotel encourage it and don't mind at all which is very helpful. The staff at the front desk were very helpful as we book two nights but with 2 individual bookings but didn't have to change rooms through our stay.

Its super and I highy recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend to watch Ant & Dec at the arena, brilliant location to the city centre, the arena and drinks at the print works, breakfast isn't the best but enough for what you need after a night out! On both my visits all staff have been brilliant with a quick check in, rooms are a great size and finished nicely with great power showers, I would use this hotel again and again when visiting Manchester

Stayed: August 2014
Thank katyGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £64 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing