We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Tea Rooms

Richmond Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 45 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just lovely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Treated my grandma & mum to afternoon tea after a few recommendations & was certainly not disappointed! Delicious little sandwiches, huge homemade scones, bubbly & a pot of tea we absolutely loved it! The manageress was really welcoming & helpful taking time out to talk to us & we didn't have to wait long for a table although it was so busy. Such a homely, cosy feel. Would go back over & over! 10/10

Helpful?
1 Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Leah,

So pleased to hear that you were able to bring your mum and grandma to visit us for afternoon tea....we love it when all the family get to experience what we have to offer.

The kitchen team will also be delighted to hear how delicious you thought the food was especially the scones a lot of love and hard work goes into baking those scones especially when you consider how many we have to bake every morning!.

The Manageress is Jackie, we are so lucky to have her here she controls the door so well giving everyone a very fair opportunity to get a table....and she just chats to everyone as though she has known them for years, we recently had a team meeting where our team were able to vote and give a reward for their favourite team member....and even though Jackie is the Tea Rooms Manager and keeps her team well in order she still came out tops by a mile....just shows what a lovely lady she is!

Thanks again Leah for the lovely comments and for highlighting how lucky we are to have Jackie as such a great team Manager.

David Ball
Operations Manager
Richmond Tea Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    367
    131
    111
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nowadays it is almost expected that a walk down a backstreet in Manchester will result in some sort of hidden, unadvertised mecca of burgers, hotdogs, cupcakes or whatever the latest foodie trend may be - but Richmond Tea Rooms still delights as you step off the dark and dismal street into a scene from Alice in Wonderland.

The menu has a great selection of sandwiches, cakes and afternoon tea packages. Some sandwiches come served with salad, coleslaw and crisps, which we felt was more than adequate for lunch. We were excited about cake but just couldn't fit it in! I have however visited before and tried the lemon drizzle cake which was wonderful.

Would be much better with more drinks available for the non-tea drinkers amongst us and also, the availability to book for 2 people would be great. Richmond tea rooms definitely lose business based on this policy as I know many people who spend a day shopping and 'don't bother' to walk over on the off chance of a table because they have been turned away before. I, on the other hand, have never had any issues or been faced with waiting times more than a few minutes - just enough time to ogle the cakes and decide which one you want!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Sam,

Thank you for your lovely endorsement, your comments are very much appreciated.

We do get an awful lot of very positive comments on our home baked lemon drizzle cakes it is rather scrummy!

If you do not drink one of the 30 something tea's we have available, we have all types of coffee available, Latte, Cappuccino, Americano as well as a fantastic Hot Chocolate with whipped cream and marshmallows, A full variety of soft drinks and juices are also available.

We also serve the very famous Henrick's Gin with cucumber... served out of a special tea service if you fancy something a little stronger with your afternoon tea, A variety of cocktail tea pots are also available.

I also appreciate you letting everyone know that there is not a wait everyday you come to the tea rooms, if you are able to time your visit correctly, most of the time you can walk straight in.

Once again thank you for the lovely comments, hope to see you again very soon.

Regards
David Ball
Operations Manager
Richmond Tea Rooms
Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Highly disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived here today after being told we couldn't book but they'd seat us as soon as possible. Well 2 hour wait was not good enough. Surely booking should be an option for a weekend. We came to Manchester specifically to dine at Richmond for afternoon tea.

Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaJ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Donna,

First of all may I apologise for the wait you had in the tea rooms this weekend, I have spoken with Jackie our Tea Rooms Manager who looks after the customers at the door and she said it was a very busy weekend.

I am afraid at peak times on a weekend we sometimes do have a wait but Jackie will endeavour to seat customers as quickly as possible, she will even take your mobile number, put you on the waiting list and call you about 10 minutes before your table is ready whenever this is possible.

I do appreciate what you say about the booking but we do have a policy of 4 or more during weekdays and 6 or more at weekends to be able to book a table....unfortunately these tables do get booked up very quickly as the tea rooms are so popular.

The reason we do not take bookings on smaller tables is to leave these open for walk in customers, If they were open for bookings again they would be booked up for several weeks and customers would very much have to plan 4-6 weeks in advance for paying us a visit.

I hope this goes someway to a reasonable explanation, of course we don't want to upset customers but this is the best system that works for us to ensure we are able to look after as many customers as possible.

Our peak times at the weekend are between 1pm and 4pm but we are open Mon to Thurs 11am to 10pm, Fri and Sat 10am till 11pm, Sun 10am till 10pm.

Once again I do apologise that on this occasion your wait for a table was longer than we would have wanted it to be.

Kind Regards
David Ball
Operations Manager
Richmond Tea Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My sister visited me last week from France and I thought I would take them to Richmond tea room for a nice afternoon tea.
I have been going there many time but this time they ve outdone themself, the service was impeccable, the place was clean, and the cakes were great ! Generous portions, scones nice and light, jams and cream fresh.
I recommend it to anyone that fancy a nice sweet time with there loved ones.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mickael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Mickael,

Lovely to hear that you thought us so special that you would bring your sister in whilst visiting from France.

Great to hear that we looked after you so well and that you enjoyed all the scrummy things that we have on offer including the cakes and scones.

Lets hope your sister went back to France and has fond memories of the lovely day out you had in our tea rooms.

Regards
David Ball
Operations Manager
Richmond Tea Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch - and afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My daughter was meeting business clients here and need a lift so we decided to have lunch too (at a different table!) We had a lovely light meal - ordered from the breakfast menu at 12.55! The food was served quickly, despite being such a busy time, and was very fresh and tasty - prices are very reasonable and the menus are extensive. The staff were attentive and very pleasant without being intrusive. After a stroll around the Canal Street area and a visit to the art gallery the meeting was still in full flow so we decided to wait inside and ordered drinks in The Lodge room. I will definitely be popping in here again when I visit the city centre.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello,

It was lovely to read your review and so nice to hear you had a lovely time in both the Tea Rooms and the Lodge

It's nice to get lovely comments about our breakfast as we are very well known for afternoon tea's but we do have a great breakfast selection too.

Our team work very hard to ensure each customer is very well looked after so it's nice to hear you appreciated that.

Once again thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you and your daughter again very soon.

Regards
David Ball
Operations Manager
Richmond Tea Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richmond Tea Rooms also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Richmond Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing