We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, excellent service, friendly staff”

The Blue Parrot Bar and Grille
Ranked #877 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Bar, American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food, excellent service, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal on two evenings and the service and food could not be faulted. All of the staff made us very welcome but special thanks must go to Natalie who really does go the extra mile to chat to all customers young and old to make them feel welcome and is definitely an asset to the Blue Parrot. We certainly returned on the second night because of this. Thanks again Natalie and be sure that when we visit Manchester again we will be sure to call in again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    23
    27
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Came for a meal with a few friends on Saturday. Looked quite busy when we arrived but service was good. Fab cocktails and had the best rib eye steak I've had in a long time!
Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank chantelle_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rotten”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

First of all I can truly say this was one of the most disgusting places to eat in manchester , my 16 year old lad can cook better than the chef in the blue parrot, chefs special fish cakes on a bed of salad well more like frozen fish cake ( not one thing special about them ) on a bed of brown leaves , nasty isn't the word ,, and as for the burgers , burnt burger , extra dry bun with nothing on it and the bun was huge compared to the burnt little piece of processed cow in the middle , the homemade chips was not cooked propely still tasted raw everything about this place screams frozen processed food nothing homemade about it , it was a really bad choice for Mother's Day (2014) the staff was thick as anything didn't have a clue , it was the worst £110.00 I have ever spent on fish cakes and a burger ( there was 4 of us eating and we all thought the same ) so if ur thinking of dining out in manchester city centre stay clear of the blue parrot loads of other fantastic places to eat in manchester .... And last of all , all I cud here is PING PING the good old trustworthy microwave .....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service....food is so - so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I went here for the first time yesterday evening,
immediately made to feel welcome by the manager and bar staff,
we arrived 20 minutes early for our booking, but had a drink while we waited as it was quite busy,
we got sat at our table for the time we had booked, our order was taken within 3-4 minutes,
rump steak for her, chicken and red pepper skewer for me.
the other half has been here several times and loves the food,
i wasn't mega impressed with my meal, it was alright, but for £8:95 it was good value and can't complain,
Heinekin at £4:50 a pint is steep, but i guess thats what most bars/restaurants charge in town.
The layout of the place is a little strange, i can understand previous comments from people who have been there just for a drink, and leaving stinking of food when they haven't eaten.
The staff and in particular the manager are very attentive and pleasant.
Would i go back ?
probably ... but only to keep the other half happy.
theres plenty other restaurants in Manchester which serve better food for around the same price in better surroundings.

Neil.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilmcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Not much effort being made.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

A Monday evening and many of the surrounding eateries were pretty busy, so I popped in here as it seemed less crowded. (Hmm!!) The server was charming, but the food was pretty average - chips were of the cheap and frozen kind and the fish had been placed on the plate upside down to mask the burned bits of batter that it had picked up from the fryer. I suppose £9.95 for two courses inc a drink isn't too bad but I wouldn't go there again - there's lots of much better options close by.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Parrot Bar and Grille also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Blue Parrot Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing