We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,938)
Filter reviews
1,938 results
Traveller rating
869
664
250
83
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
664
250
83
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park next door stayed here travel lodge room was clean minute walk attending a concert excellent location all you can eat early check main road would stay here again family room busy road budget hotel short stay double room excellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,914 - 1,919 of 1,938 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel when we went to see Eric Clapton at the Manchester Arena and paid £30 per night per room - unbeatable value! There was a notice in the lobby which said that all rooms had now been refurbished and our rooms on the first floor ('Take That' wing...) were bright, shiny and clean with new furniture and linens. It's certainly the cleanest and freshest Travelodge we have stayed in with a large bar / dining area on the ground floor. The rooms are standard Travelodge ones, which are fine for a short stay, although basic if staying for very long. Check-in was friendly and speedy and the Reception Staff were helpful with directions etc - although you can see the Arena from the door of the hotel and it was a 5 minute walk (in the rain...) away. Due to the weather and having read the reviews telling of the long waiting time for snacks and meals at the hotel, we decided to grab a McD's from the Arena concourse after the gig: this was a big mistake as the McD's ('We stay open after concerts') was on the verge of closing and we ended up eating 'left-overs' as the staff weren't willing to cook food to our orders and we had to have what was already prepared and on the chutes. There must be a better alternative than this? We had a quiet night's sleep: the hotel guests were quiet and our room overlooked an inner courtyard. We had pre-booked breakfast and this was excellent for the price: as much as we could eat and the food was fresh and hot. My only complaint was that the coffee from the machine was made with dried milk instead of fresh; although there was a jug of fresh milk by the tea-pot, so you could make yourself black coffee and then add fresh milk. We avoided paying any Parking charges as the streets next to the hotel are Disc Zones and have 2 hours free, 10a.m. until 6 p.m. Our car is a BMW and we made it clear that there was nothing left inside: it was untouched and undamaged when we returned to it the next day. We arrived just after 4p.m. and moved the car into the next street at 10a.m. the following morning.
This is an ideal place to stay if you don't wish to spend too much on accommodation on top of the price of a concert ticket: it was nearly as close to the Arena as the Park Hotel, at a fraction of the price and had the advantage of 'free' parking nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grospierres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not bad location taxi to deans gate is around £4 can walk there in around 10 mins though.

Staff were very friendly and informative large restaurant area, 24hr bar and food served 24 hr also. we were on 1st floor and the room was clean, a good size. as per usual i found travelodge good value for money there cheap and cheerful not cheap and nasty. no complaints at all bar was reasonably priced also bottle of plonk was only £8 which i didnt mind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jade w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed overnight for a concert at the Arena. Room was modern and clean, and the bed was very comfortable with 2 soft pillows each!

Self check-in machine was quick and easy to use, and was a nice touch to the modern theme.

The hotel is within a few minutes walk to the arena.

Only downside was no parking, but this was to be expected of a city hotel. But nearby parking was available and was only £3 a day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is situated on an industrial estate near a railway viaduct and there are commercial vehicles loading in the early hours that keep you awake. The area feels dangerous at nights and there is nowhere safe to park your car either (the independent car park next door is not manned at night).

The staff in the hotel are indifferent to the point of being robotic and totally disinterested. There was a mistake in my booking and I arrived a week early and they made me pay again at a higher rate, rather than just bringing forward my booking that I had already paid for. Spend a little more money and book somewhere nicer, safer and more friendly, like the Premier Inn Salford Quays for example.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Me & my husband stayed here for 2 nights to see a concert. After a very long trip we were glad to get to the hotel and be checked in within minutes. Our room was clean, comfortable & suited our needs. The only complaint I had about the room was the outside of the window was filthy so you could barely see out of it...not that I intended to often with our view of strangeways!! The location is brilliant for the MEN arena and the nearby printworks & arndale centre. I did find out once we arrived that the free football museum is also only a 10 min walk so I was dragged along by the hubby! The staff were brilliant, we were served at the bar very quickly at all times even after the concert when it was busiest. The food was good (overpriced like every hotel though) but i would definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews