We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Refurbishment but by Cripes it was boiling hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Hotel looked nice and Clean, the room had an overpowering smell of air freshener upon arrival and was boiling hot.
We turned off the radiator straight away however even with this turned off, we roasted and unfortunately had a terrible nights sleep because of it.
When you opened the window you could hear the sounds of Manchester city so that wasn't a viable alternative.
Which is a shame as the hotel looked lovely and was very clean just would of preffered not to spend the night sweltering.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank CommGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so we are really sorry to learn that you were unable to have a good night sleep to the temperature in your room CommGhost. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,399 - 1,405 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

I can only praise this hotel & staff they were very friendly & welcoming we had a great stay it's in a really good location for the Phones for you Arena (MEN) and a great location for the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank misspertwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed for one night at the travelodge because we had a jls concert at the phones for u arena/m.e.n arena. The hotel was perfect location for the arena, just across the road!
The hotel reception was quick with polite, helpful staff, the hotel was clean and the room was really nice as it has just had a re-furbishment! The food off the menu was nice and the breakfast buffet was nice with plentiful of choice. I would recommend this hotel for short stays if you have a concert at the arena, it is about 2mile from picadilly station and 2/3 mile from deansgate and shopping areas but a taxi is approx £6-8. A really enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ks81977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

They won't tell u clearly but Check in time is 3 pm, they charge u over $20 if u want to check in early! They won't even allow u to leave ur luggage at the hotel! Even though they have empty rooms they won't let u check in nor allow u to leave ur bags at the hotel. They didn't even allow us to pay that later as we didn't have GBP with us at the time of check in. It's their way or the highway. It's their way of making extra $ from each guest. The location is far and unsafe and you will end up paying more money for taxi.
The room also smelt like urine. It was quiet awefull that u couldn't stay in the room.
Do urself good by choosing another hotel near the CBD which in the end will probably cost u less and won't cause u hassles.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ethan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your review Ehsan F. Our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels however should you need to access your room early you can check in from 12 noon at a £10.00 charge, which is subject to availability. Unfortunately we do not provide storage facilities at our hotels and are therefore unable to offer a left luggage service. We are sorry to hear you felt the location was unsafe; we take the safety and security of our customers seriously and ensure that our hotels are secure. Our housekeeping staff are fully trained to make sure our rooms are up to a great standard and they should notice any unpleasant smells and air the room thoroughly. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

For a two day business trip, this made a great base for my team and it was a good location for various events in the heart of Manchester.

The rooms had been upgraded and were very well decorated although the carpet in my room was unsettlingly wet in places.

I had a problem on the first night, which another guest echoed - some sort of boiler or heating system kicked in and made so much noise that it felt as if I was in the bowels of an oil tanker. I moved the next night and it was fine but got no sleep on the first night.

The speed of service on the reception was quite slow with a number of errors made during the check-in process but the man on the desk was very nice and it was difficult to be too annoyed despite being on deadlines.

Breakfast was good but is overpriced. There should be an option with or without cooked food.

While I had cooked breakfast, my team had a tea and a bowl of cereal and to pay £8 for that seemed steep.

It would have got four our of five from me if not for the noise on the first night and as long as you have a quiet room, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_W_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Best thing about the hotel is location for Men arena or phones 4 u as it is now. Accommodation very basic but after all this is the Aldi of the hotel world. All in all good value for money and two minutes from the back of the arena. Only down side was the sole less area it's situated in but what do you expect for under 50 pounds if you book early.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank familytraveller247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel is clean and in a good location.
Check in is at 2.30 pm. Arrived at 2pm but despite rooms being ready and reception staff being free were not allowed to check in early. Instead we were directed to sit in the bar. No doubt so that we could start spending money.
No luggage room available to leave bags despite hotel being in the middle of Manchester City centre.
I was very unimpressed with no soap in the bathroom. Unable to wash hands after using the toilet. Every public toilet has a soap dispenser.. I think this is a basic requirement and could pose a health risk for the hotel and people staying in it.
Lovely flat screen on room wall, unfortunately no remote control to go with it.
Not a bad hotel if you can get it cheap. We paid £120 and it was definitely not worth that.
Given a choice would choose Premier Inn over Travelodge any time. Basic standard is much better.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review Pauline V, our check in time is 3pm in all of our hotels however we do give our customers the option to purchase an early check in service which costs £10.00 and allows our customers to check in from 12 noon. Unfortunately our hotels do not have storage rooms and we are unable to offer a left luggage service. However we would expect our guests to be provided with soap in all of our rooms and we are sorry to learn of the lapse in service on this occasion, we’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our hotel management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#33 of 120 in Manchester
1,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#95 of 120 in Manchester
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Address: Rajan House 61 Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £45 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Manchester Central Arena 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing