We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but less than expected quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, but less than expected quality hotel”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

For spending a night in Manchester this hotel is great for location, just being minutes away from Victoria station and the MEN arena - though not so great if you're going to be on the other side of the city centre. Also, the Boddington car park right next door is also really handy - £3.50 a day, shame it's not 24 hour tickets instead.

As for the hotel I'm a bit disappointed for the quality. Paying £53 for a night I'd expect a bit more out of it. I requested to be on a higher floor, personal preference, which has normally been okay but the water pressure here was ridiculously bad, both from the tap and shower head. I can only imagine being on the top floor is what caused the issue, otherwise I'd be pretty disappointed. On top of that, the shower temperature was quite hot and refused to change regardless of how it was set. There was no hairdryer in the room, which you can get from reception desk but it does mean having to go to the desk yourself, as there's no other way to ask for one.

I think it's good Travelodge are trying revamp and redecorating their hotels, but I don't think they've done it in a great way. Poor lighting, small bathroom and yet again the mirror is so far away from any plug socket it makes it even more pointless having it there.

On the brightside, the bed was comfy! I'd consider staying here again only if a room was available at a much cheaper price. If you're finding it at a similar price I'd recommend trying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try a lower floor - quicker to get to reception for anything and hopefully better water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamzah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    536
    194
    55
    46
See reviews for
267
651
76
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for a concert in the phones4u arena which is located 5 minutes away, so this hotel was perfect. It was cheap as I booked well in advance. We arrived and used the self checkin machine which was easy and quick to use. We made our way up to our room and everything looked clean and tidy. Our room was very clean and not dated. The room had basic facilities. Although based in a 'busy' area I personally didn't hear much outdoor noise and I slept very well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Travelodge. This is right next door to the arena & around the corner from Arndale shopping centre. Parking behind the hotel but at extra cost. This hotel is in a fantastic position & could just do with a kick up the bum. The hotel room was clean with a fresh smell of paint & new carpet. The room was spacious but maybe a little too spacious, as all that was in it was basically a bed & small desk. There where no drawers, bedside cabinates & the wardrobe was a few hooks under a shelf. The bathroom was clean but toiletries would of been appreciated. Mind you it was £89.00 compared to other hotels close by at around £135. Breakfast is a extra £7.35 for all you can eat continental buffet. The breakfast was very good value, but the staff had a lot to do & tables where not cleared, had to ask & wait for milk, cups, glasses & cereal bowls. Come on management, put on more staff & don't let a good hotel with a good position let you down. MANCHESTER COUNCIL - The area is a dump & is in urgent need to be cleaned up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couplewithteenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Rooms are spotless and the staff were superb. The night staff were a right laugh too, which is just what you need when you come in lairy! Stay away from the 24 hour food menu. You GET what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyMayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at a Travelodge in the past few years ( the other time was in Berwick Upon Tweed ) Both time's I've appreciated the cleanliness of these hotels and on how well maintained the rooms are.
On both occasions I and the other people in our party have been really impressed by the helpfulness of all the staff we came across. They went out of their way to be helpful and I feel made our trip just that bit more pleasant. Am looking to book our next weekend away with them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Frang34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

great location fab staff nice food great nights sleep comfy bed what more can you ask for would defo stay again
great value for money i have passed this information to all my friends as a good place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kimmydicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights - the first night we saw the Avicii concert at the stadium next door. Hundreds of shops and restaurants within a 5 minute walk and a really handy taxi freephone at reception! The room was spotless and well equipped. Only downside was the lack of basic toiletries and hairdryer - but I ay have been spoilt in previous Travelodges!
Staff are amazing and can't do enough for you. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Shelby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#37 of 116 in Manchester
1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Property: Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Address: Rajan House 61 Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Manchester Central Arena 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing