We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely diabolical service on one employee's behalf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we found that we'd been double booked. Had to prove via e- mail that we'd booked. Got a room 40 mins later. Which left us no time to have a meal before our concert. We arrived back from the concert and ordered food ( which was advertised) to be told that we could not have anything. And were advised by the same member of staff that we should take a 10 min walk into town. Bearing in mind my sister is 6 months pregnant & he expected us to walk the streets of the city at that time of night. We ordered a pizza delivery from outside. & low & behold my sister witnessed 2 girls walk into the hotel & order food !!!!!! Upset & furious were the words !!!!! Unbelievable - & felt very let down indeed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Eirian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns Eirian O. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,322 - 1,328 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

this hotel was in very convenient location for phones4u arena, just a few minutes walk down road, good car park at rear-not travel lodge car park but only £6 for arena parking or 3.50 other days-good value, hotel seems very quiet during our stay, new double beds were very comfy, good pillows, we had booked twin room but couldnt use single as it seems to be broken, sloping away on one side, didnt really bother us as mum and daughter we just used the double, room was very hot and stuffy , this seems to be a something we find across all travel lodges we have used, When we arrived early evening the hot water was barely warm but ok next morning. breakfast had good choice but hot food was on slightly warm so didnt taste so good, long queue to toast bread and that toaster didnt really toast it just warmed it, However all in all it was good value for money as we only wanted a convenient base to the arena for one night,and we would book again for the location . used rail to get to Manchester, fairly cheap to get taxi from main station but following morning we walked back only took about 20 mins.good bars/restaurants within few mins walk as was local spar shop

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

i have stayed in a few travelodges now and I have only been disappointed by one. This is not one of them. They were happy to let my friend stay last minute with no extra charge, the room was sparkling clean (noted by friend who runs a b&b). Flat screen TV, tea and coffee. Quiet part of town, even though it is on a main road and not too far from the centre. No negatives at all. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teliooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went for the Robbie Williams concert at the arena. Excellent location for the Phones4U arena. The male receptionist was distracted the whole time he dealt with us even though there was no one else waiting. Didn't bother looking directly at us throughout the conversation. Room was very clean and excellent for a base to tour Manchester. One thing to note Travelodge website says that car park next to hotel is £6 a night. Because there was an event on (which obviously will be most nights and the reason you would be staying there) the actual cost to stay over night was £9.50. Wasn't that much of a disappointment however could be a surprise if you hadn't of budgeted for it. Great nights sleep and fully refreshed the following morning. Will stay here the next time we need to go to Manchester.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hiya Folks
Stayed here for the Robbie Williams concert. The lodge was extremely busy. The guy on reception was rushed off his feet but dealt with everyone as quick as he could ( A Top Bloke ). Rooms very clean we were on the 4th floor and it was pretty quiet the lodge overall looked like it had had a major refit everything looked brand new. Had breakfast there in the morning, staff again were spot on food was a good buffet style service. the tables were kept clean and tidy
great value I would recommend and stop there again
well done travelodge! !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djrobbo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've stayed here twice this year (once in March and the other in May 2014) and on both occasions found the hotel to be of an excellent standard and the staff very polite and helpful. The rooms are smart, tidy and well kept. I think some people would find them soulless but to be honest if you're staying for a weekend in Manchester and just need a place to base yourself and have a good nights sleep then this would work for you.
There is a large open air car park next door, which also serves as the main car park for the MEN arena, so be wary of travel times as parking could be a bit tight.
The food was good and the service excellent, so no complaints there.
As others have said it's a bit loud, both with younger guests and being right next to a main road but again the hotel is well built and tidy that you don't really notice it.

Overall very acceptable and comes recommended.

Room Tip: Try and be on the far side, away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked over night Saturday to Sunday. Very close to the town centre. Staff were friendly and great to know the bar is 24 hour. Standard of rooms was fine and the facilities were great.

I will definitely return here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammii_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#35 of 120 in Manchester
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#93 of 120 in Manchester
968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Address: Rajan House 61 Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £43 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Manchester Central Arena 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing