We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt as if hotel only cared about money, not the guests.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Ranked #28 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Felt as if hotel only cared about money, not the guests.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel whilst we were going to a gig. I have a head condition which requires me to carry oxygen cylinders for treatment purposes. When the company arrived with the o2, the duty manager said they would not accept the o2 due to health and safety (bare in mind i am classified as disabled and this woman was preventing me from using treatment for my disability). She was rude and spoke to myself and the o2 delivery man like we were a huge inconvenience to her. In the end, another receptionist had to sign for the o2 (thank goodness). (A word of warning, if you try and check-in before 3pm, even if your room is ready, you will be charged £10). As for the hotel, there was only 1 member of staff on the reception who had to work between reception and the bar (between 3-5 busiest times due to check-in). There were queues 20 minutes long at the bar for a drink. The room was okay, nothing special - I found a hair in the shower. There was no hair dryer provided in the room, so I had to ask at reception. They took my room number and put it against the hair dryer number so I couldnt steal it (as if I would?!). There was also no phone, nor information booklet in the room. And finally, the number provided to contact the hotel is an automated switchboard number which charges 10p a minute. Overall, with the experience of discrimination (on 2 occasions), the lack of ameneties, uncleanliness of the shower...I definitely won't be returning any time soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    496
    177
    51
    45
See reviews for
236
589
71
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Friendly staff, well maintained and comfortable rooms and great beds. Location is good, it is perfect for the arena although I wasn't seeing anything there, it was an easy walk to the Corn Exchange, Printworks, Arndale etc. At first glance the walk from these areas may look a little 'dodgy' at night in places but I walked alone and had absolutely no trouble whatsoever.
There are currently a lot of road/pavement closures around the area due to a new metro station being built (I think that's what it is) so might be useful to be aware of that.
After staying in quite possibly the worst Travelodge in the same week, this one was warmly welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for Grillstock held in Albert Square. Parking right next door charged £7 for an overnight stay, great value for a city location. We had booked an early check-in (from 12) but misjudged traffice etc and arrived in Manchester for 10. Went into Travelodge to see if we could drop our bags but were told our room was available and were checked in straight away. Bonus! The staff were excellent, really welcoming and helpful. Room was spotless, no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast the next morning was really good value - all you could eat - bacon, scrambled egg, beans and sausages on hot buffet, toast, croissants (warmed if you wanted), muffins, cereals, yoghurts, juice and hot drinks for £7 odd. Only an approximate 5 minute walk away from the Arndale and Printworks. Will be returning, wouldn't stay anywhere else now!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelLover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we found that we'd been double booked. Had to prove via e- mail that we'd booked. Got a room 40 mins later. Which left us no time to have a meal before our concert. We arrived back from the concert and ordered food ( which was advertised) to be told that we could not have anything. And were advised by the same member of staff that we should take a 10 min walk into town. Bearing in mind my sister is 6 months pregnant & he expected us to walk the streets of the city at that time of night. We ordered a pizza delivery from outside. & low & behold my sister witnessed 2 girls walk into the hotel & order food !!!!!! Upset & furious were the words !!!!! Unbelievable - & felt very let down indeed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Eirian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns Eirian O. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

this hotel was in very convenient location for phones4u arena, just a few minutes walk down road, good car park at rear-not travel lodge car park but only £6 for arena parking or 3.50 other days-good value, hotel seems very quiet during our stay, new double beds were very comfy, good pillows, we had booked twin room but couldnt use single as it seems to be broken, sloping away on one side, didnt really bother us as mum and daughter we just used the double, room was very hot and stuffy , this seems to be a something we find across all travel lodges we have used, When we arrived early evening the hot water was barely warm but ok next morning. breakfast had good choice but hot food was on slightly warm so didnt taste so good, long queue to toast bread and that toaster didnt really toast it just warmed it, However all in all it was good value for money as we only wanted a convenient base to the arena for one night,and we would book again for the location . used rail to get to Manchester, fairly cheap to get taxi from main station but following morning we walked back only took about 20 mins.good bars/restaurants within few mins walk as was local spar shop

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

i have stayed in a few travelodges now and I have only been disappointed by one. This is not one of them. They were happy to let my friend stay last minute with no extra charge, the room was sparkling clean (noted by friend who runs a b&b). Flat screen TV, tea and coffee. Quiet part of town, even though it is on a main road and not too far from the centre. No negatives at all. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teliooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Went for the Robbie Williams concert at the arena. Excellent location for the Phones4U arena. The male receptionist was distracted the whole time he dealt with us even though there was no one else waiting. Didn't bother looking directly at us throughout the conversation. Room was very clean and excellent for a base to tour Manchester. One thing to note Travelodge website says that car park next to hotel is £6 a night. Because there was an event on (which obviously will be most nights and the reason you would be staying there) the actual cost to stay over night was £9.50. Wasn't that much of a disappointment however could be a surprise if you hadn't of budgeted for it. Great nights sleep and fully refreshed the following morning. Will stay here the next time we need to go to Manchester.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#88 of 115 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Property: Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Address: Rajan House 61 Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Manchester Central Arena 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing