We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wont go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Burton Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burton Arms Hotel
Ranked #74 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wont go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

not clean . very dirty. poor standard of beds used . broken bed room lock . dirty carpets . dirty toilets showers . room had dust all over every thing

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hugoss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
4
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

As we come on a regular basis to enjoy the Roayal Exchange we found a place where we feel comfortable. The landlord and -lady and their staff make you feel welcome and you can have as much fun staying in the bar as you can have going out in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoppa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawsker, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

stayed a while back. it was an absolute hovel. no breakfast, intimidating atmosphere, filthy room, had to pay upfront, THE worst place i have ever stayed in my life.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

The room was a filthy, dirty and stuffy booth. Sleeping was completely impossible,as there was loud live music every evening. The toilet was dirty too, also the shower. The room wasn´t even proper lockable. A stinking place. The location is quite good, just in the centre.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kritzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

i am over in manchester quite a bit for the football, myself and my husband stay in this hotel on a regular basis. we dont have to move for the whole weekend as the entertainment that is laid on in the pub is excellent. if youre looking for 5 star this is not the place for you but if u are looking for somewhere to just put the head down in a clean and comfortable room then this is for you. the staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much bother for them. i highly recommend this hotel for couples and groups going to manchester for a weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

I arrived after midnight from a business trip to realize that my mobile was dead and no one was at home to let me in... so I needed a place to sleep for the nigh... I decided to go for a budget hotel and I remember that this pub was renting rooms... the pub was closing down sending home the last customers, I asked to the bar staff if they still had a room available and the owner said yes! I was so happy!!!
The room was at the top floor, it didn't have the en-suite, but for 20 £ I believe was perfect! The room was super clean and I also had a TV to entertain myself.
The property is a bit dated but to be honest in my life I slept in much worst places that were charging much much more than 20 pounds... Thanks so much to the owners to let me stay at the Burton Arm... I will surely recommend the place to friends visiting Manchester!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAPO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

Got to the Burton Arms after a day of sight seeing, to walk in to a bar full of men. Very intimidating, and not what i'd call welcoming as a woman in earlt 20's.
Room stunk of smoke and window wouldnt open.
Didnt brave breakfast.
Wouldnt recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine5065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
#56 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#86 of 116 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hatters Hilton Chambers
Hatters Hilton Chambers
#21 of 81 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton Arms Hotel

Property: Burton Arms Hotel
Address: 31 Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing