We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes-world tour”

O2 Apollo Manchester
Ranked #33 of 177 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The O2 Apollo Manchester opened on August 29th 1938 and is one of the premier concert venues in England, with shows from every major rock, pop and comedy act on the touring circuit. The breadth of styles of events covers every market - the cutting edge of modern British music, through some of the biggest artists from overseas, popular comedy, and music for older generations. With both fully seated and part-standing formats, this versatile venue increases its footfall and presentations year on year. Art Deco in style, the Grade II listed building has been central to the British touring circuit for decades, attracting Best Venue nominations and patrons from across the globe.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yes-world tour”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

1st time for me at this venue. Read a few reviews & was not to sure I would like this place but it was a great building for music.
Ok,it's a little old around the place but the feel good factor makes up for it.
Plenty of bars inside to drink & wc's to use.
Selection of parking outside,£7 as of date.
It's very busy getting out but to be expected. Would visit again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    149
    62
    24
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sarah Millican excellent sadly venue let the side down”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The official onsite car park opens after 6pm, with the unofficial car park by Bookers open much earlier for the same price, however neither car parks accepted credit cards even though I would have expected the official car park to have. As for the official car park, well lets just say its a plot of land gravelled over, not an 'official' looking car parking.

The queue was wrapped around the building, and even though we were halfway in the queue several ladies just came out of the next door pub and just hopped straight in front of us, no apology, nothing, and the official staff didn't do anything.

The main entrance was too cramped considering the numbers of people and the official staff didn't regulate numbers to create a safe environment. The seats were a little on the small size for leg room (being someone 6ft3) so was a bit uncomfortable and normally I would expect seats to be staggered so that you didn't see the persons head straight in front of you. So if you're a short person either bring a cushion or order a seat at the front.

Drinks were expensive even for a theatre, and again our of all the bars open, only one accepted credit cards.

My advice is bring your own drink, bring cash only, and if you're short have a plan B (ie. cushion)

The Sarah Millican show was excellent, just the venue needs an overhaul in all areas.

Date of visit: 1st May

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gMaesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Organised staff made it easy”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tickets to see Sarah Millican saw us visit this place for the first time. whilst we were initially shocked to have to join a queue that went around the block the efficiency of staff helped it not to become a negative. the building itself is tired but plenty of facilities,bars etc and again the staff were extremely helpful so you weren't standing in queues for a long time. the only negative I had was that they were dressed in t.shirts with security written on which to me implied that they were expecting trouble. as the building was more of a theatre type venue it may have been more fitting to have something less obvious. otherwise great experience and amazing night watching a brilliant comedian. Be warned..your bag will be check when you go in to make sure no alcohol etc

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sarah Millican”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited here on 3rd May to see Sarah, was quite shocked how dated the place was but we were on row H so really close to the front, the que for drinks was silly and not enough staff on, 20 mins for 1 drink is not acceptable so we bought a few each.

Seats are really close together and no room to move at all but once Sarah came on I kind of forgot about that.

Toilets are small dated and again que's everywhere. I guess to be expected when it's a sell out but a few updates are needed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank charlotte_maher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dated!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Went to see Sarah Millican.
The show was great and Sarah was very funny.
The 02 Apollo however is very dated, the female toilet cubicles are very small and the queue very large!
A pint of beer and a small bottle of water cost almost £6.
The seats are very close with not much room between them and not much room between knees and the chair in front.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank happytravelling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O2 Apollo Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to O2 Apollo Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing