We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sized room & good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good sized room & good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Novotel's tend to be functional and this was no different. Rooms seemed to be standard double or twin with a sofa bed. I had a double which was a really good size if you were travelling with a family. It's located in Chinatown so close to the tram and Picadilly Gardens. The rate was a summer offer so was incredibly reasonable at £57 including breakfast. All in all a decent place to stay - not the comfort level of a Marriott but good value if you get a reduced rate deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in future, kind regards,Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    696
    219
    74
    33
See reviews for
271
404
121
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Excellent value for money, great location, efficient check in and excellent service in the bar/lounge. Rooms are modern and spotlessly clean. Used the gym on the 4th floor - small but adequate with good kit. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerRuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights Thurs - Sun, as tourists and went to two gigs. We have stayed here several times - quiet hotel in excellent location for Christmas markets, manchester academy, apollo and MEN.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for your comments, I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the future, kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here on a business trip, and booked through company scheme. Someone who appeared to be the Assistant Manager at the front desk became quite irritated when I told him breakfast was included, and continued to argue with me over it even when he had my booking contract in his hand confirming this. He called the travel operator, and came back to tell me he 'would do it this time' - I wasn't going to settle for anything less as I had a contract and he clearly had an issue with the booking agents not me! However, I wonder if this made him give me a room on the 1st floor directly above the bench saws and drills for the refurb? I nice touch after a 5 hour drive, and then 4 hours in the office. I asked what time the noise started in the morning and was assured it wouldn't start until 11. Hey presto, halfway through my 9;30 call the next day - the noise starts. I went to my colleagues room to continue - and we could hear it quite clearly on the 4th floor. I haven't even gone into the dust everywhere, the floors covered in plastic, and builders leering in the bar. Disgusted with the hotel's attitude to their clients and would recommend it to no-one, if I'd have had young children here I'd have been besides myself.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newflat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I’ll look into this personally and come back to you. Please send your email address , to Iain.Black@accor.com
Kind regards,Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Good points: very well located for central Manchester, easy to find, with parking (discounted) next door. Relatively quiet at night for a Saturday. Stylish lobby area, and helpful reception staff.
We asked to change the first room we were allocated because it smelled of smoke (although all the rooms are meant to be non-smoking, so this may have been a one-off). A member of the reception staff immediately met us on our floor and took us to another room, which was bigger, with more facilities and with no smell of smoke. That was great service I felt. Loved the iphone speakers, the expresso machine and the thoughtful jug of milk in the fridge + water bottles too.

Negative points: We ordered a newspaper which was not delivered, or someone else took it. The receptionist took it off the bill, but didn't offer to replace it. There is a fixed price buffet breakfast in the lobby cafe at £13.95 per person which we thought was high, and offered no flexibility. However Don Giovanni's very friendly deli round the corner on Oxford Road does a great full English ,breakfast cooked to order at £4.40 plus coffee, wiith other choices too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Manchester Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about brekfast. You may be interested to know that in addition to the extencive buffet option we also offer less expencive choices in the lounge area from our breakfast bites menu. I do hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing