We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a city centre stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #43 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berkshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal for a city centre stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed for the bank holiday weekend. Hotel was busy but most of the staff took the time to ensure we had what we wanted - especially the woman who served our dinner on the Sunday evening when we only got back just in time for last orders, she was exceptionally helpful - and the food was good. Our room was very quiet, which was very good considering e.g. the BUPA Run outside. Only 2 'spoilers' -a) 2 of the breakfast staff did not know what Darjeeling tea was, even though it was on the list of teas available and b) the checkout, which was rather brusque; we found we had been charged for water when it was supposed to be included in the room rate (and incidentally was not refreshed on the second day of our stay) but there was no apology for the error and even more annoyed when we got home and noticed we had been charged for a newspaper on the Monday which we hadn't requested and which hadn't been delivered (probably as it was a bank holiday).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PLowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Manchester Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about staff food and beverage knowledge, which we have since addressed. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    704
    225
    77
    36
See reviews for
278
410
122
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed here overnight for a business trip. Early check-in had been requested but was not available due to housekeeping however there was the facility to store luggage until check-in was available.

Check in was smooth. The room was clean and comfortable with all the usual amenites: hairdryer, toiletries, iron/ironing board, sewing kit (which I had to make use of & did the trick) as well as a robe and slippers.

Negatives: The flyer in the room stated that a complimentary bottle of water would be available and that there were soft drinks/snacks in the mini-bar but these had not been replenished. The main door had a lock but no security chain/bar which I would have found more comforting and is usual these days. The only other negative was the lack of sound-proofing between rooms. I could here the gentleman next door coughing all night and his alarm the next morning which wasn't conducive to a good night's sleep.

The room itself was modern and spacious with a desk, chaise and plenty of storage (including enough coat hangers). The bathroom boasted a rainshower which was powerful enough and pleasant-smelling toiletries.

The hotel itself couldn't really be more central. It is next to Chinatown and has great tramlinks (literally 1 min walk outside the hotel). There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops nearby. This hotel would make a great base for exploring Manchester.

The conference/meeting rooms were comfortable and had the requisite facilities. The catering was good...and plentiful. My only criticism is that those colleagues who required vegetarian dishes could not identify which these were as there was no labelling and no staff to explain until we went to find them. The lighting in the room also could have been better but it was a pleasant enough space.

Overall, a pleasant trip and I would retun to this hotel if I were to go back to Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Manchester Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about labelling the food options, which we have since addressed. Please feel free to let our Duty Manager know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel which is conveniently located in the city center and which is just a ten minute walk from Manchester Picaddilly Train Station (alternatively you can also catch the free Metrobus which drops you off just across the road from the hotel) for one night whilst we attending a concert at the Ethiad Stadium.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly offering advice about how to get to the stadium for the concert.
The room we had was an Executive room which was modern finish and well presented. Upon booking we were informed we would have free wi-fi however the wi-fi option in the room is only if you a have a laptop as you have to plug it in, and so not suitable for Ipads or other tablets which was disappointing.
The room itself was fantastic with two flat screen TV's, one located in living room area with two relaxing chairs and footstools. The bathroom although small (the WC is seperate) was well equipped with toiletries and shower was very good for over bath shower.
The buffet breakfast following morning was excellent with vast choice of cereals, hot cooked breakfast along with continental style.
Would recommend and will re-book if we go back for short break to Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jaxteryorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Novotel Manchester Centre and you will pleased to hear that we now offer complimentary WiFi throught the Hotel. I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I was pretty happy with the hotel.
Generally good service. Comfortable rooms.
Breakfast was fine.
I found the coffee at breakfast undrinkable however - and Im not normally fussy about this sort of thing. - go for tea!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre, except for the breakfast coffee. I look forward welcoming you on your next visit. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Good quality hotel, clean throughout with a very modern look to the lobby area, my room was larger than average with a queen bed even though it was only a double room, Modern bathroom with two shower heads which worked great.
Room service ordered, prices par for the course and I can honestly say the rack of ribs and burger were some of the tastiest food I have eaten.
Breakfast was Buffett style with choice.
All staff encountered including cleaners were thoroughly polite.
Convenient location with underground, well lit Q plaza parking lot seconds away, Novotel provide discounted rates.
Another good quality hotel from the Accor brand with low traffic noise since it sits behind another hotel (IBIS).

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CRD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had a superior room and it was definitely worth the extra. Bed was very comfortable and hotel is in city center. Staff were friendly and hotel was very clean. I have stayed twice now and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iomboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel Manchester Centre and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed in an executive room. The hotel is in a good location close to nice places to eat and drink. It was a clean and well decorated room with a nice bathroom. Only downside is no free wifi in the room!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Intrinsique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review - delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward
to welcoming you back soon, by which time our new wifi network will be up and running with a free offer for hotel guests.. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
#45 of 116 in Manchester
1,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing