We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced due to concert!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Manchester Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #38 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Overpriced due to concert!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed here due to going to the Robbie Williams concert. Thing is the day before the hotel had normal rates the day Robbie was on it was £160!!!! I have paid less for a 5 star hotel in London!
I wouldnt have minded paying that if it had some sort of luxury element to it?
Its basic. Its clean but basic. The tv was awful never worked, neither did the heating. It was supposed to be two singles, instead i got one double and a pull out sofa.
If i had paid £60 this would have been more than fine, great actually but at £160?! I expect alot more!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I have noted your comments about the TV and heating system, which we have since addressed. Our pricing is very carefully set in line with other similar 4 star properties in Manchester City Centre who all charge premium rates on high demand and event dates, however I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. Kind Regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    688
    216
    71
    33
See reviews for
262
398
120
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stay at this hotel regularly and it consistently delivers good, fridnly service. The rooms are pleasant and functional and the staff evidently care about the hotel. The one downside is the WiFi and online connectivity which is very poor, not helpful if the trip requires good business access in the room!!!

Room Tip: Executive rooms have been uipgraded, worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value feedback from our regular guests. As we now offer WiFi complimentary throughout the Hotel, this should eliminate any future issues with internet connectivity. Thank you also for your kind comments and compliments on our new Executive rooms, which are available for a discounted supplement subject to availability at check in. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Not stayed here for over two years. Rooms remain smart and clean. Bathroom was spacious and spotless. Bed comfortable with a choice of pillow types. Tv channels a bit limited, but small fridge for own items and flat screen tv with MP3 player connection is a plus. Other than an apartment, his would be my Hotel of choice in Manc. Reception service was speedy and to the point. Broadband Wifi is paid for ... So cannot be a five star.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank andnevlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. We do now offer complimentary WiFi throughout the Hotel - so hopefully you will give us a five star review after your next stay. I look forward to seeing you again hopefully in less than another two years! Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

From the very first moment we walked into the hotel we were treated to excellent service, from a member of staff opening the front door for us to the restaurant manager asking if we wanted the rugby turned off on the television and music putting on (we didn't!). The room was large, with a tiny walk-in wardrobe and the shower was excellent. We both had a good night's sleep and there was no noise in or around the hotel. Security was very good - when we came in late the door was locked and we had to show our key card to gain entry. Breakfast was substantial - my daughter was disappointed that she couldn't fit in any pastries! Would definitely recommend for both business and leisure stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisgibson2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for posting your kind comments and compliments. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Manchester. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Don't get me wrong, my family and I have stayed many times at this hotel both on business and pleasure, and we have always considered it to represent good value for money, until now that is. What has changed my mind on this occasion, during a recent one stay over the weekend was the number of discrepancies between what was advertised and what was delivered.

In short our booking invoice confirmed complementary Internet usage for an executive room. Upon arrival though we were informed this did not apply to weekend stays. In addition although an executive room allows a free movie we were charged for this when checking out, although this was removed from our bill when I pointed this out. Also the executive room in my opinion is no different from any of the other room types we have stayed in at this hotel although granted you do get the usage of bath robes and slippers. Finally the adjacent Q car park, even with the Novotel discount cost £13.50 from 6pm arrival to 1pm departure the following day; I believe the hotel website indicates the cost of overnight parking to be in the region of £6.50. And what has tipped the balance in me deciding to write this review or not, was me just noticing that an additional £7.50 charge, applied by Novotel, has just appeared on my credit card bill without any explanation.

To be honest I would probably stay at this hotel again as a second choice but because of their penny pinching attitude I will probably plump for the Thistle or perhaps the Mercure as my first choice now, bearing in mind their more central location?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Manchester Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the Executive room offer, which we have since addressed and we now offer all guests complimentary WiFi, and as part of the Executive room package a free movie at weekends. Our brand new Executive rooms are very different from our Standard and Superior rooms as they are the next generation of rooms which are being built into all new-build Novotel Hotels, and we are proud to be the first Hotel outside of London to offer these rooms (they are now being rolled out in other Novotels outside London too). I realise that you do have a large choice of Hotels in Manchester, however, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location with stations located nearby. Junior suite is really nice and good value if you book in advance. Really spacious with a nice bathroom and waterfall style shower and separate toilet. Recommend the breakfast and its easy to walk to most areas in Manchester ! Croma , the restraunt nearby is excellent value for money and tasty too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived at this hotel for a one night stay to be told there was no record of our booking on the system... the hotel blamed booking.com for this, luckily we had our confirmation and the receptionist allocated us a room and we were upgraded to a superior room... I would be interested to see what a standard room is like as the superior was nothing special. The overall hotel was clean and modern and has obviously had a lot of money spent on it. Rooms were an ok size, bed was comfy, bathroom clean. Good location for city centre. Parking at nearby car park was reasonable with a discount card from reception at the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and area kept clean and tidy throughout service. I would recommend this hotel, and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleyj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
#44 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing