We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #43 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel room”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you desire a hotel room that's extremely comfortable and beautifully-looking, then the Novotel in Manchester City Centre is definitely for you.

The location is decent as it's near to the bottom of Portland Street. The hotel is very nice in the interior, and the room was tremendously nice. The monsoon shower in the bathroom was my favourite feature.

I can't comment on the price to be honest as this was booked for me for my birthday, but after punching in a few random dates on the site, it costs around £100. I'd say that's very expensive for one night, but what we got was pure luxury and it's what we wanted.

The checking-in process seemed to be sluggish, but we weren't interested in using the staff services anyway, just a bedroom to relax and sleep in.

I give it a 5* rating and will consider staying here again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorelJBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Manchester. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    707
    225
    77
    36
See reviews for
278
410
122
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night. Given the price of the room, we were expecting more. The location is good for central Manchester. Service at reception was fairly lukewarm. The room was basic (given the price) and uninspiring. The mattress in our room (340) was old and broken, so we did not have a good night's sleep. Toiletries were insufficient for two people. The sink was not working properly. Other than the location, there's no advantage in staying here instead of a budget hotel. We will try somewhere else next time we are in Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally. I have noted your comments about you room, which we have since addressed.
I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind Regards

Iain Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed on business and had some of the worse service I have ever experienced in an Accor hotel (I do 30 nights+ a year with them). Disinterested reception, faulty wifi, staff not following through on their promises (e.g. Never calling back when they don't have the info you ask for and they have promised to do so by a certain time/date.

Location is reasonable and close to the main shopping areas of town. Breakfast is below the usual Novotel standards. Rooms are usual Novotel stuff and the hotel is quite modern.

It's the service that let's this place down though. I hope they fix it as I would stay with them again if they improved. Until then though I definitely won't.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gibmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and we pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally.

I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience

Kind Regards,

Iain Black
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here on a Friday night, as we went to a concert at the Apollo.
We stayed in an executive room which was really nice and spacious. The room was spotlessly clean, with a really comfortable bed. It had an ipod docking station and a nespresso coffee machine which was wonderful!! Arrived back around 11pm and the hotel was very quiet, which led to undisturbed nights sleep. Breakfast was also good with lots of choice for the healthy and the unhealthy (!) As an inner city hotel it was perfect for our needs - it lies opposite China Town and is 2 mins from the shops - we would definately stay here again. For those driving, there is a multi storey next to the hotel, and they provide a 30% discount to the parking - it costs £14 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: We stayed in the exec room - if you want somewhere that is quiet, comfortable and relaxing, then thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Best hotel we stayed in Manchester so clean modern, staff so helpful happy, would stay there again. Fab breakfast so many choices,good location to Piccadilly train station, so many places nearby to eat in night

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cericez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I am always impressed by customer service at Novotel group hotels; the staff do make you feel welcome. The Manchester central branch has newly refurbished executive rooms, which are worth trying; well designed, with lots of sockets for electronic devices. Shower is hot, bed is comfortable, room appears very well sound- proofed (hotel is nicely set back, away from busy road; well situated for Metrolink and Chinatown- have the £10 set lunch at the New Emperor restaurant, three courses including crispy duck!) curtains keep out the light- what more do you need?

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable but a little outdated with the décor. Easy to find from the station but for a woman travelling on her own for a business trip not really ideal. Did not have breakfast as it was expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAW060913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to seeing you again hopefully soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
#45 of 116 in Manchester
1,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing