We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Average business hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Rooms satisfactory, but the usual problem in the UK, that the heating/aircon is poorly controlled, so ended up in January with the window open to try and get a satisfactory temperature.

The TV in the room is one of the annoying 1990's style 'hotel' TVs, that tries to be clever and combine being a computer with a TV. It is rubbish and takes 30 seconds and multiple presses of the buttons to change channel.

Staff, mostly friendly and helpful, but as a tip, if you have a queue of customers waiting to check out, only having one member of staff serving whilst the other two are doing paperwork and ignoring the customers, is not good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Manchester Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the service you received and the TV system, which we have since addressed. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    718
    227
    78
    37
See reviews for
287
414
123
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed here on three occasions and would return if they would improve the breakfast selection, too many carbohydrates on the menu no lean options except for the eggs. It would be nice to see a selection of cold meats and fish. Excellent front desk. Good value for price and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennelEightyFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from a regular guest. If there is anything specific you would like for your meal which is not on our menu, please ask and we can always see if there is anything we can make for you. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fantastic location and easy to find. All of the staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet, and a few of our party made use of the excellent spa facilities. Breakfast was great and of good quality, with items refreshed regularly. Would stay again but glad that we booked at discounted rates!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that your party enjoyed yourselves in Manchester. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I had a room on the first floor which was kitted out for a disabled person; low bath, low sink, hand rails everywhere. Not really required as I am not disabled. Room was clean, but nothing special in the slightest. Located well for the city centre.

Right above a Q-park which is useful if you are driving. Not great value at £150 without breakfast and I was glad it wasnt my money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel Manchester Centre and thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had to stay here for 4 nights whilst away for business.

My room and bed was very comfortable, with free wifi an iPod hook up and Ethernet cable if you wanted.

It was perfectly located for my business trip and within walking distance of Manchester Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations. Loads of restaurants nearby, especially Chinese as it's close to china town. Receptionist gave great recommendations of places to eat.

Breakfast was fine and the ingredients seemed fresh and not cheap.

I'll definitely stay here when I have a meeting at the same venue again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Novotel Manchester Centre and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is in a good position in the city center. Myself and a friend went down down for a night to see Manchester City at the Etihad stadium, about a 20 minute walk away. The room, which was meant to be a twin, consisted of a double bed and a sofa bed, the double was quite hard while the sofa bed was very soft. The air con was complete rubbish and you can only open the window about 3 inches which made the room very uncomfortable to sleep in. Bath with shower and a separate toilet ( bring your own toilet roll cos the stuff they use is also rubbish.) Room was clean tho and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dochalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay - I have passed your comments to the relevant departments. The limiter on the window is for safety reasons. I look forward to seeing you again hopefully soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in march, had paid for an upgraded room and even though this was mentioned at check in we still got put in a standard room.
We had to call reception after 10 minutes when we realised we were in the wrong room and got moved quite quickly to the correct room.
Hotel overall was clean and superior room was nice, but everywhere you went the hotel was unbelievably hot and the air con in our room wasn't working which we only found out at 3am in the morning when we came back.
Buffet breakfast was excellent though.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Manchester Centre. I have noted your feedback and have passed your comments to the relevant departments. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing