We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and Family Friendly, lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #38 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We arrived at the Novotel after a 3 hour train journey from Bristol. My 2 young children were tired and fed up but their mood changed when they were greeted with a cuddly toy each from reception. There was a small play area as well, which was a god send when you want to keep children occupied in a hotel environment.
The food was excellent, we ate both breakfast and evening meal at this hotel and both were superb - they do a lovely childrens menu.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and this put us at ease immediately, even a 2 yr old going crazy at breakfast didn't faze the restaurant staff !!! The reception staff were very accomodating and helped us with directions and maps etc
I was very pleased with our choice of hotel and would not hesitate to stay with Novotel Manchester again, or indeed try a different Novotel hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel in Manchester and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

On arrival check in was prompt effecient and very freindly staff, giving directions and offering further help if needed.
Central location, clean room everything one would need for a pleasant stay, inexpensive and roomservice was excellent and on time! Very effecient staff who clearly enjoy their work. Would definately recommend this hotel to travelling Manchester united fans. Will stay again without hesitation.
Thank you
Donna Kirk-Dingwall
Belfast

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkdBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester. Kind regards, Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

I was staying in the hotel with my daughter (12). We flew in to Manchester airport to go to a concert in the MEN. The hotel is conveniently located to the Oxford Road railway station, approx a 20 min journey from the airport.. The walk to the hotel takes 5-10 mins. There is a McDonalds en route!
The walk to the MEN takes 15-20 minutes. Arndale shopping centre and Manchester centre are a 5-10 minute walk.
The hotel is located beside China town.
The room was basic but clean. Double bed & sofa bed. With the sofa bed made up, the room is quite small, but more than adequate. There are tea making facilities etc.
The hotel was very quiet despite its central location.
Breakfast was in the restaurant - buffet style, but again, more than adequate and good selection.
The hotel receptionist was very helpful - she checked to make sure the sofa bed was made up for us before we went to the room. She also gave us a map of the city centre and showed us how to get the MEN etc.
All in all, an excellent location for a short stay. Great value, especially as children are free.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillytheBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback, Kind Regards Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Second time to stay at the Novotel in Manchester City Centre. Both visits have been brilliant value for money. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Location could not be bettered ideal for the chinese quarter. Rooms are spacious and spotless and bathrooms modern with good showers! Have not eaten in the restaurant but have had room service and can thouroughly recommend the food supplied. Will only use this hotel for any future trips to Manchester.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Pleased you had a good stay, hope to welcome you back, kind regards Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed here whilst visiting the nearby Palace theatre on a very cold snowy night. It was very convenient as it was only three minutes walk away. The room was spacious, clean and warm and the breakfast was the best we have ever had in this country. We had a nice welcome and all the staff were friendly and smiling. When we were leaving they offered to keep our luggage for the day and informed us that trains were still running, despite the bad weather. We got a good deal from Laterooms at £69 for room and breakfast and would certainly choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pendlewitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review. Kind Regards Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in December.
Location - good central location
Rooms -Good sized rooms, smartly furnished/decorated if a bit boring (standard chain hotel decor)
Cleanliness - Looked clean on first inspection but found a couple of hairs in the bed, a dirty patch under the sink that had been missed and a few hairs in the shower.
Staff - friendly staff on reception
Value - expensive at £99 per night without breakfast and I believe the rack rate is actually £165!!
Would I stay here again? I'd shop around first to find something better value but I wouldn't rule it out completely.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnalovescheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Well, this really is the ultimate business hotel. I don't know why, but it always seemed to be full of single travellers in suits. I suppose this would be bad on a holiday, but on business, it means a quiet hotel where everything is pretty smooth and easygoing.

The location is quite good - loads of places to eat nearby, as well as places to grab a drink. You won't want to bother staying in the hotel for food. That said, the room service is pretty good if you're stuck inside working, though the portions seemed to vary from absurdly large to absurdly small over the few weeks I was there.

All in all, if you're in Manchester for business, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_RandomName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#65 of 120 in Manchester
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £73 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing