We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid English fare”
Review of The Bulls Head

The Bulls Head
Ranked #593 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Splendid English fare”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Slight delay waiting on the Chef to arrive, But the Barman was excellent at keeping me in the loop.
So when he did arrive it was Tomato & basil soup, which hit the spot with its zest of spice.
A traditional Steak Pie followed and it was a huge helping.
Cant fault this pub at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric_131Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly pub”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just got back with friends from a night in Manchester , this little pub saved us by giving us breakfast when we couldnt get any at our hotel after a mix up with booking it . The landlady produced a lovely breakfast just after they opened when they dont normally serve it . What a good pub the bar staff were lovely especially micheal ? from France . Well done and thanks from the ladies from southport .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“City pub with local feel”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely pub grub - basic but well cooked, tasty and generous portions. Goo ale, good atmosphere, traditional pub decor and freindly, efficient staff

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love Manchester”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

People were so friendly and helpful. We had a fabulous shopping experience at Boots where we had a scent bottle engraved - thank you Gwen. Chantel at MacDonaldHotel and Spa was great. We will be back soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RobArthur56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy city centre pub”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Friendly pub, just over the road from Piccadilly station. Good range of beers and decent pub food ( mash and gravy with lamb shanks was yummy). A welcoming place and no TV when we visited, would have been happy to stay all evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SketchesofMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bulls Head also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing