We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely busy, still got our food in no time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manchester & County

The Manchester & County
Ranked #1,471 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Extremely busy, still got our food in no time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was extremely busy Wetherspoon pub on Piccadilly. Despite the crowds, we managed to get a table on the back of the pub and got our food in about 10 minutes.
Food was good and cheap, service was friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Standard JD Wetherspoon fayre. Food good, great price, good choice of beer. Central location;facing Piccadilly Gardens

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a very busy city centre pub we ordered two meals of rump steak one medium one medium to well done and they arrived very quickly and were both cooked to perfection a real treat,we also got in the price two drinks so as I had got a bottle of Rosé before we ordered we got two pints of John smiths and left one in the pump!! And as a added bonus the gents toilets were on the ground floor !! We would call agin if in Manchester as we had a really nice time and the staff were very polite !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical Wetherspoons, if a little rough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

While staying overnight in Manchester, I called at this pub on the way from the station on Saturday afternoon and again on the way back on Sunday morning. As would be expected, it was packed and rowdy on the Saturday, but offered an excellent choice of good beers and ciders at excellent prices - probably a wider choice than an average branch, and service wasn't too bad considering how busy it was.
I was more surprised the next morning when I called in for breakfast on the way to my train. It was 8am on a Sunday morning but was still fairly busy and a large fight broke out near to where I was sitting. Fortunately there were bouncers to hand who managed to eject the disruptive elements fairly efficiently. All the same, it's not really the kind of atmosphere that's conducive to relaxed Sunday morning breakfast!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wetherspoons what a great franchise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Cheap and cheerful hence great value on drinks and food.Good staff fantastic breakfast for two with four tea's 11 gbp less than half the price of the Blounge ten minutes down the road towards piccadilly station

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fkgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manchester & County also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Manchester & County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing