We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another visit to another class!”

Alexandros Greek Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alexandros Restaurant in Manchester offers authentic Greek food inspired by various regions of Greece. We buy our products from well-known for their quality local suppliers, using free range meats, fresh vegetables and fresh fish.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another visit to another class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We spent the evening dining here with friends, not just the couple we went in with but with Dimitri, Stephanie and all their staff at this authentic Greek restaurant. We have been dining here as often as we can since they opened two years ago and the reception, service and of course the food has remained the tops. Studying the menu can take some time because you are spoilt for choice with the knowledge that the food is quality and comes in abundance. The house wine also is really very good indeed . When we have time on a Wednesday evening we are certainly going to try the 'Tapas' soonest!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anndl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    86
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I thought I was in Greece!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem, a little distance from Manchester but well worth the taxi ride!!

After trying the house wines we decided to have the red which is absolutely delightful! With this we had pitta and dips which were served promptly and by the extremely friendly owner who also brought out some vegetable type stew for us to try which was also delicious.

For our mains we had a spicy souvlaki and beef stifado, these were very generous Greek portions and were cooked to perfection!

After a lovely chat about Greece with the owner he gave us two liquor coffees on the house! Overall I can say that this is the most authentic Greek restaurant I have tried in the UK and I can't wait to go back :)



Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaClowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing- recommend to everyone!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for a family meal, and absolutely loved it. Had a wonderful time. Great customer service, not too loud, amazing food!! Will def come back here again and will recommend to everyone I know

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple yet brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went to Alexandros on a week night just to try it out after reading some great reviews. I wasn't disappointed at all. Great staff, very friendly and knowledgeable. Never really been to a Greek restaurant and I loved the simplicity of the food. It goes to prove that fresh ingredients cooked simply is a recipe for tasty food. Mix this with a carafe of Greek house wine and your on to a winner. We both had the mixed grill menu which ticked all the boxes.

Would highly recommend this excellent value for money restaurant. The best part is, if you enjoy one of the dishes then you can always ask for them to bring out more at no extra charge. The Greek salad was really tasty and we had two. The owner said at the start of the meal that nobody leaves Alexandros hungry and he wasn't wrong.

The décor is potentially the only thing that lets this restaurant down. However if they changed this then it would turn it into more of a city centre Manchester restaurant which they just don't need to do. The food is the winner here and that's why we go out to eat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ive now eaten twice a this restaurant, and both times have been highly impressed with the food and welcome.
The starters were gorgeous, especially the feta and spinach parcels. The aubergine dish also delicious. The mousaka- was the best Ive had, a massive portion with greek potatoes.
The staff are welcoming, polite and cant do enough for you. The only down side is that its closed half the week!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much. Now we are only closed on Monday and Tuesday, on Wednesdays we open with a Mezedes (tapas) menu which is very relaxed and popular. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexandros Greek Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Alexandros Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing