We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked the tasting menu but could do better!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 63 Degrees

63 Degrees
Reserve with OpenTable
63 Degrees is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #235 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our celebrated restaurant is re-opening in bigger and better premises in the former Market Restaurant on High Street in the Northern Quarter. A brand new location. A brand new menu. The same exquisite French cuisine And to celebrate our move, we have new menus and a new wine list. Our goal has always been to bring you a taste of Paris, with dishes such as our Pea consomme and poached quail egg, Pan fried sea bass, Duckling fillet, chocolate fondant and, of course, coffee served at the perfect temperature - 63°. As well as more covers, our wonderful new premises means we can now offer our diners an outside terrace and private function room. One thing that hasn’t changed is our commitment to serving exquisite French cuisine in a relaxed and welcoming environment. We look forward to welcoming you to our new home.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Liked the tasting menu but could do better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited this place way back when it first opened - felt it was so-so then. Decided to give it another try with the 5 course tasting menu for £25 (Tuesdays only).

Dish 1 - Pea cream soup: Interesting concept, very smooth.
Dish 2 - Risotto: weakest of the lot. Very standard flavours - nothing to shout about
Dish 3 - Cod: Cod nicely cooked, flaky and tender. The vegs seem to the same ones from dish 2
Dish 4 - Duck: best dish of the lot. nicely cooked fillet and the seeds are a twist!
Dish 5 - Dessert: fondant sold out, so had the chocolate bomb with cherry sauce instead - not a big fan of it to be honest, too sour for my tastebuds

So all in all, 3 good dishes and 2 "meh". Missed out on the fondant so may perhaps visit again.
The atmosphere was relaxed, lightning good and the staff were very informative and friendly.

Seems to have improved significantly from my initial visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wudipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    129
    67
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked 63 Degrees to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. The greeting on arrival was very friendly and we were also wished a happy anniversary by all the staff who spoke to us. That attention to detail is also reflected in the standard of food served and the service received. I know previous comments mention the cost is a little high but you get what you pay for,and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will be visiting again as we are due to meet up with friends we haven't seen for a while who enjoy eating out and I can't think of a better place to take them to! Thank you for an excellent evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank STB4JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family run French excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a great experience at 63 Degrees on Saturday evening with friends. We sampled a broad coverage of menu and all of us were delighted. Our first time there. Really friendly atmosphere, great team and fantastic food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Fabulous food. We were a bit concerned that the dishes on the tasting menu might not fill us up, but they really did. The chocolate bombe was particularly impressive with the warm chocolate melting the chocolate globe in front of our eyes. A smart but relaxed place. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchesrer
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The French Connection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

If on leaving this delightful little restaurant I had found myself in a street in Paris, rather than the northern quarter of Manchester, I would not have been surprised. Everything here is so authentic. The wine list is supurb, I had a lovely rosé from provance, which I last came across in Nice. I had a duo of salmon first course, which was delicate and light. My main course was was made up of cylinders of chicken together with potatoes in puff pastry and an incredible sauce. The cheese board consisted of three cheeses specially imported from France, from the right, each rather stronger than the other, but all with that pungent aroma only found in cheeses from that country. The owner's, a married couple are much in evidence, he heading the kitchen brigade, madam, looking after the guests with a charming, knowledgeable and helpful staff. My dinner was chosen from the alacart menus but there are also very good value set menus. Lunch is best value of all at eighteen pounds, twenty with a glass wine! This would be a great affordable introduction to real French cuisine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gregory w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 63 Degrees also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 63 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing