We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greek!! At Last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thalassa by Mykonos - CLOSED

Thalassa by Mykonos
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Greek!! At Last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I have been travelling to Greece since I was 13 and have even worked there for a few summers. I was so pleased to find this laid back eatery! A place that reminded me of Greece, not too spectacular to look at, but the food was really authentic, fresh, and just the way I would expect it in the country itself! I would really recommend this one!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dsunshineseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Went last weekend with my fiancé, using a voucher we recieved. 15 gorgeous meze dishes incl grilled feta, souvlaki, a couple of gorgeous dips, mousakka, pasta dish, couple of different chicken dishes, pitta, stuffed vine leaves and my fiancé fav a spinach type pie to name just a few!
The service was great and our waitress made sure we knew what each dish was. They dishes came over 40mins and we couldn't finish them all (they gave us a doggy bag)
The restaurant is small with a really relaxed atmosphere, some groups playing board games etc so ideal for casual lunch with friends or a romantic lunch like ours! Greek music in background and all staff Greek- was fab!
If I had to say anything negative it would be that they didn't have cocktails - just as there my favourite! Main menu looked lovely and they even gave us one to take away to look at for future bookings!
Can't wait to go again - ignore the bad reviews- not a sign of a Frankfurta or anything non Greek- and we rang on a wed to book and went on the sat, no need to wait!
Well done Thalassa!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vodkadebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of this world eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Went on Saturday 10 March with my partner to this place. We had a meze voucher and we were not dissapointed. The food is brilliant, each dish with its own unique flavour, although a couple sat behind us were moaning that some dishes had cheese in them and tasted the same (get a grip love) . The service was great and the young girl who served us made sure we knew what each dish was and what was in it. A wonderful place with wonderful people. We are returning

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Visited this restaurant last night for the first time. We had a voucher for the Greek Meze and wow, lots of different dishes to try. Plenty of food, all of it very delicious. Some items I hadn't tried before and some I had, but all these were tasty. Felt stuffed about half way through eating but I didn't want to leave any of it. Left some bread items in the end. = (
I did have to make reservations with the special offer I had, but it seems to be more of a walk-in place, somewhere between a cafe and a casual restaurant. The decor was nice - greens, black, browns and quite a lot of bench seating which looked comfortable. We were seated at a good-sized table with padded, roomy dining chairs.
There is no drink list so no prices although I imagine they'd tell you if you ask. We had a bottle of house white wine which was nice, for £12.99. I think that's one thing they should adopt to make a better dining experience.
Upon leaving, picked up a paper menu to take with me and found out they do take-away and delivery within 3 miles.
Will definitely be going here again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepwaters5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality and Quantinty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I visit recentely that cafe restaurant and i have to say that i was suprised about the quantinty of the food, also i strongly believe the quality of food they provide was very tastefull and yummmmmyyyy.
I easy give the guys 10 starss!!!!!
The Only original Greek. search it

We love you Thalassa!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick rey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thalassa by Mykonos also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing