We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manchester
from US$45.70
More Info
from US$15.67
More Info
from US$22.20
More Info
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
167
22
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
22
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour two hours central library knowledgeable guide complete tour great humour superb tour interesting walk city centre highly recommend the tour midland hotel mixed group wealth of knowledge northern quarter royal exchange enjoyable tour interesting facts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Did the Ancoats walk on a damp Sunday afternoon, but the weather did not dampen the guides enthusiasm and incredible knowledge of the area. 
Learnt so much is 2 hours about this vital area of Manchester's history.
Will be booking other tours.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank adrianmanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

It's hard to leave a review when there's nothing to review. We arrived on time at the meeting point to find one straggler waiting with us, but no tour guide arrived. It's not clear whether one needs to purchase a ticket in advance or turn up on the day, as stated on the website. We did our own tour anyway - clearly the best things in life are free. I would have loved to learn something new today, and will not be able to return to the city before I leave for the US. Such a shame.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank alixflinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCRGuidedTours, Owner at Manchester Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We’re really sorry to hear this Alix and please be assured that we take mistakes like this extremely seriously.

Please could you let us know which tour this was and the date/time, so we can find out what happened from the guide and get back to you about it.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

Had a superb tour around the historical buildings of Manchester city centre today (13/12). Our guide was Mr John Alker. John really was very, very good. He has a meticulous knowledge of the history associated with the older buildings of the city centre. On top of his knowledge John has a good sense of humour, making the walk even more enjoyable - very highly recommended !!!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

John is quite simply the best town guide I have ever had in the UK, he is extremely knowledgeable but presents the information in a humorous and very entertaining way, and he is able to adjust his presentation to different groups' needs and levels. I have actually been with 3 groups led by him - a Heritage group, a group of French visitors and a Rotary group - and he was quite brilliant in adjusting his presentation to his audience each time, and in adapting his tour to take them to places in Manchester to suit their interests, different each time. In the most recent group, everybody there has since told me how delighted they were with his tour. When I next bring a group to Manchester, John will be my first choice for a guide.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Silverhair303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018 via mobile

I have been on quite a few of the walks and they never disappoint.The"Spooky walk,took us to many places in Manchester that are reputed to be haunted and linked in with historical events,it made a thought provoking and interesting event.

Peter O'Grady had many tales to tell and although I had been on the walk before, he told us different tales that hadn't even been included on the last one.

As ever,can definitely recommend a couple of hours on getting to know our city.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank CityGirlsixone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews