We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Merchants Hotel
Ranked #104 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Went here on a stag do Very basic a little tatty but was comfortable and cheap which is all I wanted. Had breakfast included but was very basic . Was basically a hostel advertised as a hotel. Receptionist was helpful if not a little hard to understand the only thing is cos its down an ally in the city centre people pee in the main entrance of the hotel and it smell terrible! To be fair though that's not their fault. If you wanting somewhere cheep it's ok if you wanting a bit of luxury stay away!!!

Room Tip: Room 11 is the best room in the place by far!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for The Merchants Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my mum stayed here last night while going to see rihanna. It was cheap but the photos on website looked ok so we booked it. We arrived and straight away said we're not staying here were leaving. The guy said he would take the money off my mums card as she gave details when booking. So had no choice but to grin & bare it. We tried to own window and it nearly fell out, curtains were hanging off windows, furniture was knackered, dining room was disgusting (we did not eat there) anyway we slept there after concert that's the only time we spent there. We left by 8:00am. Got home only to discover I am covered in bed bug bites, absolutely disgusting!!! Wish I'd of lost the money & stayed else where now. This place needs shutting Down health & safety would have a field day. Do not book this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kirstystevelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

It's not often I would consider writing such a harsh review. Most places have good points which I like to mention - here's the good point of the Merchants Hotel - it was close to where I needed to go.

Due to an incident on Oldham St we approached the hotel from the rear. This meant walking down a creepy back alleurinating men and entering the building via a staircase of what seemed to be a derelict fire exit. Once inside the reception was run down and dark.

The room was awful. I have never stayed in somewhere so neglected and generally dirty. The view from the window looked over the crumbling rear ofthe building.The room itself was pokey, dark, grubby and the door didn't lock. There were no towels in the bathroom.

The guy on reception was nice enough and for this reason I kept my calm while complaining.

We didn't stay for breakfast, although the kitchens, though old, looked clean enough.

This hotel is overpriced, dirty, possibly hazardous and actually a little scary.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melesmele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very basic a little tatty but was comfortable and cheap which is all I wanted. Had breakfast included basic but filled my tummy. Was basically a hostel advertised as a hotel. Receptionist was helpful if not a little hard to understand.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

For a group of lads on a stag do its in a decent location but that's the only thing going for this place. The rooms were pokey,filthy and most didnt have a toilet or shower,just a small sink. The stairs into the hotel absolutely stunk of piss,I mean this was really bad! Don't think cleanliness is on the top of their to do list.....if you want a cleaner cheaper option,try the bus stop outside instead.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WinstonNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Booked this hotel as the photos showed it to be pretty decent, fresh looking rooms. Myself and my partner stayed here with another two friends. it took us a while to find this hotel as it is situated on top of a shop. you have to enter the hotel via a side door, down a tiny alley way, which looked rather grim, a warning of what was to come.

Upon arriving at reception, the middle eastern receptionist, recited an obviously scripted speech on the hotel, in broken english with a very heavy accent, we then had to ask about 10 questions regarding the hotel, which he probly had already covered in his speech but we couldnt catch a word of. Check in took forever, he ran off 3 times, leaving us all stood there like lemons! once we got our keys we headed up to our rooms, me and my partner stayed in room 22, and our friends in room 5.

our room was described as a bedroom with shower room upon booking, but upon entering the room we discovered this was not actually the case, it was just a bedroom with a shower cubical in the corner, which i found really bizarre. We were provided with no towels and had to ask for them, when i got to reception one of my friends also arrived needing towels as there were none provided in her room either, at which point the receptionist said he would bring some up to her, which he did, 2 hours late...

The room itsself was very shabby and in disrepair, with wallpaper hanging off the walls, ONE curtain, that didnt cover the whole window, hanging on three curtain rings, a cracked window, that wouldnt stay open, ceiling full of damp above the shower and filthy smudges on the walls.

if we hadnt had car troubles and arrived into manchester earlier i would have asked for a refund and stayed somewhere else, however we were running late and i had to go to work!

I got in the shower, to find the shower didnt empty properly and i was soon stood in a puddle, the grout in the shower was filthy and the rack was rusted. but i got ready and left for work, i was so glad to be out of there! door was very difficult to lock

we arrived back and went to bed, check out was at 11am, but my friends were disturbed by cleaners at 9.30am, the 'continental breakfast' included with the room was a disgrace, a loaf of bread and a toaster, some jam and some cereal.i had a cup of tea as i didnt trust any of it! if i had paid extra for breakfast i would have complained then.

we then went back up to our rooms to pack up and get out. As we were leaving, the manager was in reception on the phone, so we left our keys on the desk and said thankyou, to which he shouted, 'cant you see i'm on the f*@king phone? Idiots'

i am no expert in the hospitality industry, but i am pretty sure that is far below that standard i can expect in a city hotel.

overall the worst experience of a hotel EVER

DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

nothing more than a dirty filthy pit. shared bathroom had mould and algae growing on the tiles and no lock on the door. fagash on the floor in the room no plug for the sink and the skylight leaked rain. when we got home we discovered bites on our legs from the bedding. man on reception desk rude and unhelpful. worst experience i have ever had with a hotel.

Room Tip: avoid at all costs.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flangeandjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 119 in Manchester
1,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#95 of 119 in Manchester
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#74 of 119 in Manchester
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.4 mi away
New Union Hotel
New Union Hotel
#78 of 119 in Manchester
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchants Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchants Hotel

Address: 31 Back Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £32 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Merchants Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Merchants Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing