We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Merchants Hotel
Ranked #106 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stupidly did read the previous reviews but thought it's only 1 night did not sleep a wink and do not think when you order a room with a shower that it's ensuite as I did you share a toilet with an entire floor i.e in excess of 20 guests!! Toilet covered in faeces the rooms are appalling windows do not shut so you get no.

This hotel should be bulldozed down to the ground. The room actually had a shower cubicle in the middle of the room, no privacy what so ever. Shower wasnt used as it was stone cold and you were lucky if a few dribbles of water came out. I would have rather slept on the street than in this hotel. Worst experience of my...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stupidly did read the previous reviews but thought it's only 1 night did not sleep a wink and do not think when you order a room with a shower that it's ensuite as I did you share a toilet with an entire floor i.e in excess of 20 guests!! Toilet covered in faeces the rooms are appalling windows do not shut so you get no sleep due to the noise outside our bed was broken the double room is so small that you could not swing a cat!! Our daughter was in a single room & had to come into ours the smell in her room was so bad reported it to reception who stated no other room as full [lots going on in Manchester that weekend] rooms so bad we slept in our clothes and most definitely would not even attempt to eat any breakfast at the risk of food poisioning reported to environmental health this place is that bad do not stay even an hour!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I'd have rather slept on the street than waste my money sleeping here. The window was broken, the doors didn't lock, the bed linen was filthy and the walls had holes in...not to mention the thick grime on the shared shower. I wouldn't go back here even if someone paid me to.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxiemooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel should be bulldozed down to the ground.
The room actually had a shower cubicle in the middle of the room, no privacy what so ever. Shower wasnt used as it was stone cold and you were lucky if a few dribbles of water came out. I would have rather slept on the street than in this hotel. Worst experience of my life. Staff at the hotel didnt care, werent that bothered and did nothing about it. Pillows were as thin as crackerbread, also requested a hairdryer, im still waiting, it never made an appearance.

Breakfast was included, but I declined. I dread to think.

Please do not book into this place!
Just pay extra and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. That was a mistake staying with some friends for a work night out mid week. When we all left the following morning, everything was fine until I received an unexpected email later that day informing me that I was to be charged for damage to a room door. The hotel debited my bank account without authorisation!!! The was no damage to any door as we are not that kind of people and are a respectable bunch and the hotel claimed they had photographs and when I asked to see them they refused to send them. As a result I have now had to go through the lengthy process of informing the police and letting them deal with it. Don't stay here it's dirty and the hotel photographs bear NO resemblence to the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesterAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well where do I start I've never stayed in a worse hotel the place was disgusting with hairs in the showers, hanging off curtains and holes in the walls and doors! Plus they are trying to con us by saying we broke the door which was fine when we checked out! They have taken over £200 out of the account of the member of our party who booked the rooms never experienced anything so bad in my life

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I am a landlord and would not even give my tenants a place in this state, it made me fill dirty staying in here and should not be shown for customers to stay in the wall paper hanging off bed falling a part windows never shut

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henleys-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 121 in Manchester
1,208 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#76 of 121 in Manchester
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#94 of 121 in Manchester
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#68 of 121 in Manchester
272 reviews
3 mi away
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
#90 of 121 in Manchester
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Union Hotel
New Union Hotel
#82 of 121 in Manchester
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchants Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchants Hotel

Address: 31 Back Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £26 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Merchants Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Merchants Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing