We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were married here when it was a .....church!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manchester Monastery

The Manchester Monastery
Ranked #40 of 171 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Manchester's magnificent Monastery is Pugin's architectural masterpiece. It sits alongside the Taj Mahal as having been listed in the 100 most endangered sites in the world, with a rich heritage that should never be lost. Following a £6.5m restoration scheme, this hidden treasure has take its place as one of the UK's most inspiring venues for any corporate, social, or cultural occasion.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“We were married here when it was a .....church!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Not only did I serve on the altar here ,I also went to school at St Francis! We expected to have our daughters wedding here but found it far far too expensive ,even for a special day ,and my connections.
In its hey day it was a working monastery of over 50 Franciscan monks,a fantastic church ,now on a high ranking protected list.unfortunately it is in a fairly ugly part of suburban Manchester,Gorton ( whereI was dragged up) our wedding photographs are not the best,Gorton lane is not a beauty spot.
But the church as been restored fantastically,nowhere near to its former glory ,but still impressive ,home also to many cooperate events,where money doesn't matter!its a pity ther is no concession for locals or ex parishioners.
Once inside you could be transported back to medieval England especially if you've had a beer ,my parents will be rolling in their graves.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    34
    16
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ball in the tashmahal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The monastery is nestled in the suburbs of the greater Manchester area located 15 mins away from the city centre. The shell of the Catholic Church stands proud as a testimony to the presentational work of the Manchester people. As we attended our Evening meal I was stunned at the beautiful architecture and the shear size of the building only four ft shorter than the nave at west minister. The patron of the building delivered a speech about how the build was sold after the monks where forced to leave in times of hardship. An architect planned on converting the church into 15 apartments but during the recession went bust. But before the business left they sold everything of value from the roof lead to all of the French sandstone 8ft st statues. The building went to wreck and ruin until it was bought for a pound from the bank by a charity and from there they have raised up to 7 million pounds restoring the building to a marvellous place to visit or organise a function. Was a lovely evening the food was excellent very tasty compared to other food I have received at different functions and the candle lit alter and tables had a very warm spiritual tone. For me it was a great night highly recommend booking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I liked it here when I visited. It's a beautiful place, definitely somewhere to visit if you're in Manchester or something. It's great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wintertan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Go to grandiose Gorton !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Have been many times ..firstly to simply take in the architecture and atmosphere then to 3/4 concerts in the winter and summer and the setting never fails to impress ...you could be a million miles from the city yet it is easy to get to...off highway links and transport connections tram and buses from city centre Manchester. Vast Pugin tribute to this great 1860s architect who understood entirely the meaning of grand and grandiose scale alike ...jaw dropping work of pure art in a building such as this never ceases to capture imagination perfect setting for classical music...inspirational setting whatever your artform

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Works party for 450 folk was brilliant, friendly staff, lovely food and absolutely stunning location totally beautiful

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manchester Monastery also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Manchester Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing