We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel in Manchester suburbs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in Manchester suburbs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of a wedding party and cannot fault it. The service was great and the room was stunning (we had an eclectic villa) with a roll top bath and a monsoon shower.

Location wise, it is a short walk away from the bars and restaurants of Didsbury but it is a drive from Manchester centre. If you are looking for a city centre hotel, then try Great John Street, which is one of the sister hotels.

Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Eclectic Villas are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardcrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    134
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
91
244
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here one night whilst visiting our son in Manchester and taking in the impressively extensive Christmas Market. The hotel was everything you could wish for for a short stay. It's stylishly furnished, warm, comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The highlight was the enormous and enormously powerful watering-can shower which was like standing under Niagara falls- amazing, but I can't think it's very green given the volume of water it dishes out. We would'nt hesitate to stay here again. Didsbury village which is just around the corner has a reasonable range of italian, greek, indian and turkish restaurants as well as a couple of good pubs serving food, so it's all on your doorstep if you don't want to schlep back into the city, and parking is free at the hotel which is an advantage over most city-centre locations. All said and done, a very nice hotel in a pleasant location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertsclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Spent the night before my daughter's wedding here with the bride-to-be and two other members of the wedding party.What a wonderful experience!From the warm welcome,magnificent rooms,very attentive friendly staff and lovely meals to the minute attention given to making the occasion unforgettable I could not have asked for better.Thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniaf694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Lovely converted house in leafy Didsbury.The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. Bar and lounge areas are relaxing and quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly. Didsbury itself is packed with bars and restaurants but not much else if you're looking for something to do or shop. We hopped on the train to head into Manchester one day which was very easy and quick, the station is a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a lovely small hotel - friendly and beautifully decorated. A very good option when visiting Manchester but not wanting to be in the city centre at night. It has lovely lounge areas to sit around if you wish. Just a couple of quibbles- the room was so hot that I found it claustrophobic and I couldn't sleep, so I suggest checking the temperature before settling down for the night as I presume it can be adjusted. Secondly, there seemed to be understaffing at breakfast/checkout time, but we may have been unlucky.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel looks great on its web site and in reality it is just as good as the marketing suggests. Great rooms, good beds, excellent power showers and a super bar and breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I took my gf here for a treat, and it really was a lovely, relaxing pleasure.

There are many differently themed rooms here, which all look great - modern decor, well specced, very comfy, very clean. We loved our room so much we almost spent our entire two days there, taking advantage of the room service to enjoy some genuinely delicious food in our cosy lounge area, spreading out in our massive, extremely comfy bed, and indulging in the big bath at the end of our bed.

Beautiful surroundings, extremely quiet, attentive but understated service, top rooms, top beds, top food - it's not cheap, but it's proper value for money, and I can't wait to splash out some time again and try their sister hotel in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#4 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing