We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but really hot”
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed for two nights and was pleased to be given one of the suite rooms on the top floor. Although a bit of a climb, and round numerous corners and doors, I found the room to be excellent. Three rooms of a good size and an excellent sized bathroom with his and hers baths, a large shower with with huge waterfall shower head. The bed was quite low, not as low as a futon, but still pretty low.
The main problem was the heat! For a change we experience good weather in the UK, but on this day the room was unbearable, the lack of air conditioning and windows that open fuller, meant that little or no air could pass through.
Breakfast was good and simple, and the food (full English) freshly cooked.
A good stay if you have business in the business park opposite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKEscaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed at this beautiful place August and it was all great.; the staff have been attentive and were welcoming and helpful, The location was perfect for the Trafford centre and Old Trafford

Stylish and Perfection all round, and great for purpose.
24hour bar it's a plus and The eastern european girl was Great. So Kind and friendly, gave us great tips.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stay there during business trips because it is conveniently located next to towers business park. The rooms I have seen so far were lovely decorated but tiny. In the rooms you hear every noise from the hallway and the footsteps of the people on the floor above as well as alarm clocks and phones ringing in the rooms next to you. The service is friendly but not always as helpful and quick as it could be. The food is of an average quality and drinks are expensive. In my opinion this hotel is overpriced. Although the house itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you have been experiencing disturbed nights. Our Hotel is almost 200 years old and a beautiful Grade II listed building giving it bags of character but also the occasional creak. With regards the size of the room, we have a range of room types to suit all tastes and budgets and would recommend one of our Eclectic Villas if you are looking for a more spacious room. I would like to discuss your experiences further and would welcome an approach during your next stay or for you to contact me directly at the Hotel.

Kind Regards

Andy Boneham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you don't mind not being in the City centre, then this hotel is perfect. I love Didsbury and used to live there as a student years ago. This hotel is in a good location (very easy to get to from the motorway) and is within walking distance from the high street and Didsbury's bars, pubs and restaurants.

The room was spacious and beautifully decorated I wish we had had more time to enjoy the facilities. The staff were friendly and very helpful and booked us a cab for our evening out,

We enjoyed breakfast in the morning and then made a swift departure.

The only reason why this hotel doesn't get a 5 rating is because the building is old we could hear every footstep and movement of everyone coming up the stairs and past our room, so we didn't sleep too well. There was also no air conditioning so the room got quite stuffy (I was glad we didn't stay during the heat wave !)

Room Tip: If you get room 39 try and swop it, it is right by the stairs and you can hear every footstep and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IloveLiquorice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful guest house on Friday 9th August and it was all I had expected and more; the staff couldn't have been more attentive and were all very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

The location was perfect for the Trafford centre and Old Trafford- both of which were the reasons for our stay.

The room was perfect, the bed was a dream and all the added extras really made the difference. My favourite feature was the bath... Massive! Exactly what you need after a days shopping... Well and a glass of wine, which was easily obtained from the hotel's 24hour bar.

Perfect hotel for my bloke and I- no kids ruining the ambiance :)

Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have stayed at Didsbury House on a number of occasions at it doesn't disappoint. Great room up on the top floor with lovely bathroom. Helpful and friendly staff and a great breakfast. All in all a very good boutique hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mr_Mrs_Baxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Didsbury house is a lovely hotel, very comfortable, we thought it was a bit overpriced, and we were very disappointed that breakfast was not included in the price (we paid £342 for two rooms. Location was good, within a few minutes walk of the wedding reception we were going to. We did find the room very hot at night, even after leaving the window wide open all night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taviragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#11 of 120 in Manchester
452 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
711 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,786 reviews
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £90 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing