We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice romantic hotel”
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

lovely welcome when we arrived just after 11pm, Receptionist was very helpful. As she took us to our room.She showed us all the things that we needed to know only downfall was the stairs. The room we stayed in had no lift but it was a lovely room, It was very romantic as it was our wedding night.They had put champagne / chocolate strawberries in the rooms and a rose with petals on the bed. It was a late check out in the morning so they was no rushing around. Breakfast was excellent as was the staff very attentive but not to obtrusive.I would recommend this hotel to any one

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fox3yboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Many Thanks for your review. Congratulations on your Wedding and we are happy that you chose our Hotel for your wedding night. We wish you all the best for your future together and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Good service, responded to my emails and queries timely prior to our stay. Pretty split level Eclectic room. Large bed, with a roll top bath at the foot. Very good breakfast, expensive but good. Spent time in the pretty comfortable lounge/bar areas of an evening. Nice quiet but comfortable intimate atmosphere. Had some food off the menu. Menu ok but quite limited and again food is relatively expensive for what it is but food is reasonably good. Overall had a very nice stay. This is a very quiet boutique hotel, nice staff and relaxing. However, one gripe the room we had whilst lovely was extremely hot throughout the day and night. It was hard to sleep. Be nice to have some air con. However a pretty hotel and as someone who has also stayed at Great John Street the sister hotel, I prefer the feel of this one.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Jen362

Many thanks for your recent review. Here at Didsbury House Hotel we pride ourselves on our service and standards and are glad that you enjoyed your trip.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and please don't hesitate to mention upon arrival your feedback and we can help with your request.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I loved this hotel when we stayed for one night recently. We got upgraded to a fabulous suite in the attic and it felt like pure luxury with its huge bathroom with two baths and a walk in shower. I know this was probably because there was some disruption because of a funeral of a yonug member of staff (obviously heartbreakingly sad for everyone) that they had told us about before we arrived.

Lovely bar - really classy recepion areas.

Minor quibble - breakfast was a bit chaotic, food fine but just a bad day service wise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic boutique hotel, great old building, with impeccable service, large rooms, fast wifi, walking distance to cafe, pub, etc. parking spaces.

Large rooms, with great bathrooms, and good cable TV, plenty of parking spaces.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Ben K 84

Many thanks for your fantastic review. We pride ourselves on our excellent standards of service and hospitality and we are happy your stay was an enjoyable one.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

On arrival we loved the decor, a little quirky but that's what we like.
We booked a classic suite as we weren't sold on the bath in the bedroom, but wanted the little extra space.
Our room had the rolltop bath & shower upstairs on a mezzanine deck which was funky, but there weren't any bathrobes or flannels which we found surprising for a 4* hotel.
The staff from start to finish we're very friendly and accommodating and were able to rustle up a cosmopolitan in no time at all!
The location is close enough to the village to walk in, but you may want a taxi if heading over to West Didsbury.
Breakfast was delicious, eggs benedict and eclectic eggs (scrambled eggs with smoked salmon) were a great way to start the day.
I'd definitely recommend Didsbury house, a quality hotel with a friendly face!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grovetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and especially your quick 'cosmopolitan'. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Quirky but elegant rooms, gives the impression of being a good conversion of a grand house, and you are one of the guests. But a few quibbles that have transformed a good four into a three review.

On swishing open the french window curtains we found our room backed right onto an internal courtyard, in which a family was having food. This was uncomfortable in terms of any privacy, people could be standing just outside. With curtains closed the room was poorly lit, even when open the room was poorly lit.

And the service left something to be desired when checking out. Four people were ahead of us, served by the one person behind reception. Check out for each was laborious and made slower by frequent errors on bills There was no apology either from the receptionist for the wait.

If you have a better-located room and happen to check out at a quiet time you may love this. But for us it wasn't quite right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badbadbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear your feedback. Our Hotel is almost 200 years old and a beautiful Grade II listed building giving it bags of character, one of them being our unique courtyard. With regards the size and the positioning of the room, we have a range of room types to suit all tastes and we are constantly training our staff to develop their knowledge on rooms and guest requirements. I would like to discuss your experiences further and would welcome an approach during your next stay or for you to contact me directly at the Hotel.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I needed a Manchester overnight stay and travelling by car we made the decision to stay out of the city centre. What a good decision that turned out to be. We had a beautiful stay in Didsbury House.
The hotel is elegant, stunning and sooooooo comfortable. The staff are friendly and welcoming and very efficient.
We stayed in Room 10 and it was a delight. The wet room shower made a lovely change to the usual hotel bathroom arrangement. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. My only minor criticisms . . . Bath robes would have been a nice inclusion as would a packet of biscuits with the tea/coffee tray.
This was not a cheap overnight stay but I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it and I would choose to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DysonsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Many thanks for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and the Wet shower room in particular. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#11 of 120 in Manchester
444 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
677 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,102 reviews
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £90 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing