We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel but avoid room 42” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #8 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but avoid room 42”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Booked a late availability room as a surprise for my husband. The staff were very attentive and welcoming and chatted away about the reason for our stay so it was a little disappointing to be put in as my husband described the "broom cupboard". I had envisioned a romantic stay with bubble baths and room service. However we didn't have a bath and we would have nowhere for two of us to sit for dinner. There were plenty of local restaurants on the doorstep so we went out for the night instead. The room was extremely warm and stuffy, we opened the windows for fresh air but the road noise was a bit disturbing and the food smell from the kitchen hit us about 6am. My husband hit his arm on the desk cramped next to the bed and I hit my hand in the bedside table which is annoying as the bed itself was very comfortable. It was a bit of a squeeze at nearly 8 months pregnant to get down the side of the bed past the radiator to the bathroom during the night. I know the hotel has some fabulous rooms so my expectations were high. The staff are lovely and hotel decor is stunning but the room has put me off and I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Avoid room 42
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Didsbury House and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the décor of the Hotel and found our staff very attentive. As you say you booked a late availability classic room and room 42 was the only one within the category left available. This was also sold at a 40% discount on our Rack rate. We do have an extensive range of Eclectic and Duplex suites that have our cast Iron roll top baths and lounge areas respectively. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfortable bed as we use hand made double pocketed Vi Spring mattresses as we believe they are of the highest standard. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future and please contact me directly and I can discuss your requirements in detail.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    134
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
89
244
20
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon first night so wanted to come back. My birthday was a perfect excuse and by chance they gave us the same room! A fabulous bathroom, two baths and a rain forest shower!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house have the best views and the most room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Christopher

Many thanks for taking your time to place a review. We are happy you enjoyed your recent stay and it was just as great as your Honeymoon. We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Definitely worth a return. Room was well-fitted, with a really comfy bed. Surprised that wifi not included though. Bathroom really nice too, although the monsoon shower over was a bit of a challenge being well over six foot.

Breakfast offered an excellent selection, toast really good but the cooked Irish was a slight disappointment owing to quickly fried sausages that were well done in places on the outside and undercooked inside. Similar story with the potato cake which was underdone and like mash potato with a little brown colour on the outside. It was good but a little more care would have made it a really nice breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Many Thanks for your recent review. We are glad you had a 'lovely stay' and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

We do take all feedback seriously and have mentioned to our Head Chef the small breakfast pointers you mentioned.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Attended a Wedding reception here in November this year.
Fantastic building with some great architecture and new features that really make the building feel modern but retain the original look.
70+ people descended on the venue for check in over a fairly short space of time. There were a few minor mistakes on rooms but nothing that wasn’t sorted very quickly.
The staff were excellent and extremely professional, something that many higher standard hotels can lack. Good to see!
The food during the wedding was superb and again service was excellent.
The only thing that stopped this being perfect was the slow service during Breakfast. I had a lot to get sorted on the Wedding morning and waiting around 30 mins for scrambled egg on toast. The food and coffee were excellent though.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this venue to anybody. Also great links into the city centre with the bus stopping right outside, taxis and even the tram within a 10 min walk. A large Tesco superstore and cinema also 10 min walk away and of course, the starting pub for the Didsbury dozen just over the road.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteviePManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear StevieP

Many Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Wedding event went well. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. We do take all feedback seriously and will endeavour to improve on the minor points you mentioned.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We got married at the very beautiful Didsbury House Hotel on the 18th October and we can not speak highly enough of the venue or the Staff, in particular Libby and Andy.
Our vision for the day was a 'Wedding House Party" by the end of the day I would say that all of our guests had commented on the lovely relaxed atmosphere and beautiful décor, which is down to the fabulous staff who made us feel like the venue was our house for 24 hours. The staff were always on hand if needed, their approach was happy and appeared effortless which all added to the house party vibe. We can't believe how seamlessly the rooms were turned around and Andy ensured that the day flowed without a hitch.
Libby was always at the end of the phone or email and she keep me calm and guided us if needed. Who says planning a wedding is stressful?...it certainly won't be if you get married at Didsbury House Hotel.
A huge thank you to Libby and Andy for all your guidance and help with the planning, you ensured all the fine details were covered perfectly. We will certainly be back to stay even though we only live a stones throw away.

We have so many happy memories thanks to you guys at Didsbury House

Shelley and Adrian X

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Shelley and Adrian

Many Thanks for your review and we are so Happy you chose us for your wedding venue and we provided a magical day for you. We wish you all the best in your future together and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for one night. It was a great choice. We checked in at 12.30am and received a great welcome and hot drinks from the night receptionist. We were in one of the basic rooms, but it was really good. Massive comfortable bed, great furnishings, clean and lovely bath and separate shower. Fresh milk in the mini-bar for tea and coffee which was a nice touch, as was the free bottle of water. Other great things included the DAB radio with iPod docking station. The car had a puncture and the hotel helped us to get someone to fix it and were very hospitable whilst we waited for its return. Breakfast was great but pricey and not included in the room price. Lunch was good, I had steak pie and the wife had Sea Bass. Nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of help with your car puncture.

We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

10 mins from the airport in Didsbury S Manchester. The hotel is a converted Edwardian house in a quiet back street near the A34. Excellent rooms, nice welcome, small bar, lounges and a breakfast room. Dinner is taken in the lounges or room service. Located 10 mins walk from Didsbury centre where there are a number of restaurants and pubs. Good base to see Manchester and Cheshire.

Room Tip: Rooms up in the rafters are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Many Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that it was a good base to explore the city from.

We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing