We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Didsbury House
Ranked #10 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We got married at Didsbury House Hotel just before Christmas. As soon as we stepped inside the hotel and met the wonderful staff we knew it was where we wanted to get married. From that point on everything was very easy and stress free, which is a massive bonus when planning a wedding! Natalia, Libby, Jenny and Andy were all very professional, friendly and passionate and they made us feel very special indeed. Nothing was too much trouble and their experience shone through.
The hotel itself is a beautiful Victorian villa with a very warm and special atmosphere. The interior is stunning, mixing the old with the new. We had exclusive use and the hotel catered for 50 guests in the day and 120 in the evening. We stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding aswell as the wedding night in the Bridal Suite. It's a large suite with lounge, bedroom and a bathroom with twin rolltop baths and was a beautiful room to get ready in. The other rooms are very comfortable and of an exceptional standard. Andy was in charge on the day of the wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect. Andy and his team were so wonderful and all the guests commented on the professionalism and wonderful service. There was nothing that we had to ask for. The food was stunning, very good quality and again, this is something that the guests kept commenting on. We chose a traditional wedding breakfast with with 'Midnight Munchies' at night time to keep us all partying! It makes me smile so much that so many guests had such wonderful things to say about the hotel and staff. I would only suggest staying at this wonderful and unique hotel yourself as words can't describe properly how we feel about it Didsbury House will remain a very special place in our hearts and we will certainly be going back there to stay. We can only say a huge Thank You to Andy and all of the fantastic staff, as it was them who helped make our day so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. We are so happy that you chose us to celebrate your special day and we hope that it has given you many memories that will last forever. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, maybe even the 1st Anniversary.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    133
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
88
240
20
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Wonderful stay, both this and sister hotel. Rooms are great and breakfast lovely. Great spaces to have a drink. Chloe was wonderful during stay but all staff very helpful, nothing is too much. Would go back when in the area again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on the compliments to the staff, especially Chloe.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I held our wedding here late last year. With a lot of guests travelling to attend, we took exclusive use of the hotel for two nights. This worked brilliantly and it was lovely to be able to catch up with our guests and get everybody mingling on the Friday night before the wedding the next day. Taking exclusive use is fantastic and you really feel at home.

We fell in love with the venue on first sight, after seeing a lot of pretty standard, uninspiring wedding venues we were blown away by the wonderful mix original features of this property combined very tastefully with modern amenities.

The food is of restaurant standard and we recieved so many positive comments about the quality of the food served, we stressed in advance the steak should be served medium rare, and it was perfect! Some guests commented the food was some of the best they had eaten all year.

The staff were very professional and extreamly efficient at turning the rooms around. Our guest numbers meant we had to spread across two rooms for formal dining and held the speeches on the stairs. Although we were a little concerned as to how this would work, it went wonderfully and didn't cause any issues at all.

The guest rooms are all very well apointed and comfortable, again this was a source of very positive feedback. The bridal suite is great and was a lovely space to get ready in on the morning of the wedding.

The only two areas of slightly negative feedback I can offer was that breakfast service on the morning of the wedding was quite slow and in the evening the bar was very busy and staff seemed to struggle to keep up with collecting and washing glasses hence there were longer than neccessary waits for drinks.

All in all, I can not praise or recommend Didsbury House Hotel enough. When planning the wedding I didn't dare imagine the day could be as perfect as it actually was!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. We are so happy that you chose Didsbury House Hotel for your wedding and that we hope the day has left you with memories that will last forever. All the best and we hope we can welcome you back again in the near future, maybe 1st Anniversary!

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Attended a friend's wedding and stayed the night. Everything about the experience was positive. Nice rooms, friendly helpful staff and free wifi. The food at the wedding was good and everything was well organised. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were well equipped and luxurious considering this is a converted house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel for your friends wedding and I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

What a find! Beautiful Victorian Hotel very close to Stockport and Manchester. Stayed here on business and definitely will return. Luxurious carpets that your shoes disappear into and wonderful, sumptous decoration. Rooms very comfortable with CD and Ipod player, well stocked mini bar and huge bath towels. Lovely little gym on ground floor and food amazing.

Staff extremely welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Many thanks for you recent review and your kind comments in regards to the hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for one night before a flight out from Manchester Airport (mainly to avoid the awful chain airport hotels!).Stayed in a standard room which was lovely, very comfy bed, clean, well-equipped bathroom with fab rain shower. The bar area was nice to chill out in.

The only reason this doesn't get a 5* review from me is that the staff weren't particularly friendly. They were having some refurbs done when we stayed, so it was hard to get hold of a member of staff when you needed one. Also, we'd paid in advance, and weren't planning on using the restaurant/bar/room service, but they still insisted on taking a credit card deposit on arrival to cover anything we spent. This wasn't made clear at time of booking, and it took 3 weeks to be refunded to our account!

Useful info:
- it cost us £10 to get to the airport in a cab the next day

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like speak with you further regarding your comments about the staff. As we strive to keep up to date with the décor around the Hotel this should however have no impact on a guests stay, from which I apologise for this. please contact me direct when you are next in Manchester and we can discuss your comments further.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Both of our stays here have been so enjoyable. We have stayed in classic rooms both trips and were not disappointed. The staff are always friendly and polite and both rooms we have stayed in were lovely- so well decorated, clean and have everything you need. The bathrooms are spotless with huge baths and really nice showers. In the rooms they have a really helpful booklet which includes recommendations of restaurants, etc nearby. We have not eaten here as it is so close to bars and restaurants in Didsbury that we have gone out both times.

Definitely recommended to any couples who want a nice break!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. I am so happy you enjoyed both your stays and we hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Maybe even to try our upcoming new menu.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing