We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive...”
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #3 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Didsbury House Hotel prides itself on being a luxury boutique hotel, and you pay the price tag accordingly. What the website doesn't show you, and the management are keen to ignore, is the fact this Victorian house is right on a main road. None of the windows are double glazed. It's noisy - with traffic and buses a constant. We had to move three times to find a quiet room - even though that was requested clearly on booking. There's constant slamming of doors from other guest rooms, and Housekeeping were constantly knocking on our door from 9.30am onwards, even though it was clear we wanted privacy. Talking of which, there was no sign available to let anyone know this. This is a hotel that aspires to be chic boutique...but is actually cheap boutique. It simply doesn't have the class to pull it off. On the plus side, the food is very good and the bed really comfortable. What a shame they didn't think to soundproof when they refurbed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CriticalMass1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

If I may firstly address a number of points you raised

1.) DOUBLE GLAZING. All of our bedrooms are double glazed and we would be happy to show you this at your convenience when you are next in Manchester. Only 2 of our rooms face the main road.
2.) A CONTACT US / LOCATION icon can be found on the top right hand corner of our website offering two maps and the location of the Hotel on the A5415. It is logical that every hotel wants as many people as possible to know where they are located and its the first rule of any business... Location Location Location.
3.) ROOM CHANGE. Our Electronic records show you checked into your original room at 6.09pm and moved only once (not 3 times) some thirteen minutes later at 6.22pm to the room you stayed in overnight which was at the rear of the Hotel.
4.) DIDSBURY HOUSE works hard and invests constantly to offer our guests the experience of a SMALL LUXURY TOWNHOUSE HOTEL. (as stated at the strapline of our website homepage.) We would like to think our current Trip Advisor ranking would suggest that we are constantly striving to achieve this. The owners have high expectations of this Townhouse Hotel but I can very much assure you that they have no aspirations what so ever of being a 'Chic Boutique Hotel', Posh or Cheap. That particular marketing Jargon which you refer to, as well as the terms 'Lodge' and 'Inn' is usually in the hands of the large branded Chains and we believe its best leaving them at it.

On the above 4 points we clearly disagree with your comments and feel they are misleading to fellow readers. So be it.

I am however pleased to read that you enjoyed your food and like all our guests found our wonderful Vi Spring Beds very comfortable. Unlike most Hotels we invest £1200 on each hand made Pocket Sprung mattress to ensure a very pleasant and comfortable nights sleep. We take the same investment approach with all our product purchases to ensure guest comfort and satisfaction.

Finally I would like to apologise for the slamming of doors nearby by other guests and for housekeeping knocking at your door. Do not disturb signs should have also been made available in the room.

Kind Regards

Andrew Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed for the first time at this hotel with my partner as a pre Christmas treat as we were going out in Disbury Village for the evening. We had the garden suite which was gorgeous it had a separate living room downstairs then up stairs a landing leading to a balcony a self contained bedroom with roll top bath and seperate large bathroom with a double monsoon shower. Hotel is tucked away in a quiet residential road but just a short stroll into the village. In the morning we opted for breakfast in our room which we ordered the night before it came at the requested time and beautifully presented under the silver covers we both felt proper spoilt. Would recommend this particular suite for a special occasion of just a treat felt like it was a small house as its so big. In the summer you could open the doors and sit on your balcony with a glass of wine and enjoy the garden bliss.

Room Tip: Go for the suite it you want a luxury treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire2771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Many thanks for your recent review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I've been lucky enough to stay at Didsbury house twice, both times for a week whilst working in the area. I'm struggling to think of a better hotel I've stayed in in this country. It's just sumptuous, good friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. I just like lounging in the bar area on the sofas, reading the paper after a tough day working. Perfect hotel if you're OK with not staying in centre of Manchester. It feels special and if you search or push, rates are competitive.

Evening meals might be a touch expensive, however bar snacks are very good and reasonable. There is an OK pub a few minutes walk away and Didsbury and restaurants are 5-10 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many Thanks for your recent review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife organised for us to stay here for my birthday. Really attentive and helpful staff upgraded us when they found out it was my birthday, and left treats in the room! Afternoon tea was very nice, and the bar is a very welcoming and relaxing place to while away some time. Breakfast was excellent

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Fella770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many Thanks for your recent review. I am happy you enjoyed your birthday stay and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

we took over tha hotel for a family wedding, the staff were wonderful , the food was delicious, the rooms very brilliant, we had a superking bed, blackout curtains, memory foam matress, and an enormour roll top bath in the bedroom. reat. breakfast was lovely and there was pleanty of choice, but not all guests can sit at once.

we all had a great time and as far as i know we had no complaints! may have been biased but....

Room Tip: visited many rooms as had family taken over the hotel, they were all fantasic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodiejoe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many Thanks for your recent review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay for the family wedding. We pride ourselves on our comfort and hospitality and enjoyed seeing the comments you wrote, including how comfortable our Vi Spring mattresses are.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We got married at Didsbury House Hotel just before Christmas. As soon as we stepped inside the hotel and met the wonderful staff we knew it was where we wanted to get married. From that point on everything was very easy and stress free, which is a massive bonus when planning a wedding! Natalia, Libby, Jenny and Andy were all very professional, friendly and passionate and they made us feel very special indeed. Nothing was too much trouble and their experience shone through.
The hotel itself is a beautiful Victorian villa with a very warm and special atmosphere. The interior is stunning, mixing the old with the new. We had exclusive use and the hotel catered for 50 guests in the day and 120 in the evening. We stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding aswell as the wedding night in the Bridal Suite. It's a large suite with lounge, bedroom and a bathroom with twin rolltop baths and was a beautiful room to get ready in. The other rooms are very comfortable and of an exceptional standard. Andy was in charge on the day of the wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect. Andy and his team were so wonderful and all the guests commented on the professionalism and wonderful service. There was nothing that we had to ask for. The food was stunning, very good quality and again, this is something that the guests kept commenting on. We chose a traditional wedding breakfast with with 'Midnight Munchies' at night time to keep us all partying! It makes me smile so much that so many guests had such wonderful things to say about the hotel and staff. I would only suggest staying at this wonderful and unique hotel yourself as words can't describe properly how we feel about it Didsbury House will remain a very special place in our hearts and we will certainly be going back there to stay. We can only say a huge Thank You to Andy and all of the fantastic staff, as it was them who helped make our day so memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many thanks for your recent review. We are so happy that you chose us to celebrate your special day and we hope that it has given you many memories that will last forever. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, maybe even the 1st Anniversary.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Wonderful stay, both this and sister hotel. Rooms are great and breakfast lovely. Great spaces to have a drink. Chloe was wonderful during stay but all staff very helpful, nothing is too much. Would go back when in the area again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many Thanks for your recent review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on the compliments to the staff, especially Chloe.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#11 of 120 in Manchester
444 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
679 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,381 reviews
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,111 reviews
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £90 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing