We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Didsbury House
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

Absolutely fantastic, room was gorgeous, very clean. Rose petals everywhere, you know it's luxury when there's rose petals in the loo!!
Strongly recommend one of the additional packages, very good value for money.
Best Shower we ever seen, and ive stayed in LOTS of hotels!! Bath in the bedroom is a nice feature.
Only niggle is that the staff could have been a little more talkative, quite awkward on checking in and out. Sky tv could have been better in the room. We only had a cpl of extra channels.

All in all extremely good, even though only half an hour from home was a complete get away.
Loved every second, will definately be returning.

Thank you!

  • Liked — The nicest room i have ever seen
  • Disliked — quiet staff and lack on television channels
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corptraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    134
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
89
244
20
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

Have just returned from a one night stay at Didsbury House Hotel. Chosen because we were at a wedding in the vicinity and it is listed in a dew of the hotel guides we trust such as Mr and Mrs Smiths.

We just had a great time. Room was lovely - we even managed to fit in two extra beds as we had the children with us. Only slight groan was that the room was quite warm (due to the weather) and only one window would open not really cooling it enough.

Bathroom very nice with great shower - lovely roll top bath in bedroom - kids thought this was great.

We ate lunch outside which was delicious - menu could do with being slightly more varied and as it was hot it would have been good to have had some shade but overall good.

Didn't get much chance to use the lounges - but all looked great.

Had a quick trip into the mini gym in the morning - small but fine - it is a nice add on.

We would love to come back and spend some more time - it is nice to be based just a little bit out of the city centre in a great part of Manchester but just be a short drive in if you need the city.

  • Liked — boutique design & Comfort
  • Disliked — temperature of hotel room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

We only stayed one night there. The room was okay, except for the weirdly-positioned shower controls that are in the middle of the shower wall - watch your back!

The kitchen staff couldn't do enough for us, and the 'deli menu' dinner was very good. But if, like is, you're staying there because it's near the airport, stay at an airport hotel. This is too expensive for what you get.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank escapeedelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

I could not believe the "Coulnd't be bothered attitude" from the manager! my room had been double booked, finally when I got my "New" room it was absolutley filthy!!!! the bed was not comfy, and he didnt even apologise!

DO NOT STAY HERE its not safe - they do not know what they are doing!! if you want a smooth & relaxing stay go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tessa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

We went to Manchester to see The Arctic Monkies play at the Lancashire County Cricket Ground. I searched the internet for a hotel, eventually last minute.com came up with the Didsbury. I then went on the Didsburys own website were I found they had late availabilty rooms at a fraction of the price they normally are, so I booked a classic room and off we went!!

Didsbury itself is a great town it has a real village feel about it and the houses around the area are lovely. We found a great pub to drink in and there are plenty of restaurants to eat at too.

When we arrived at the hotel our room wasnt' quite ready so we had a drink in the walled garden area, (very nice water feature). We read the papers and enjoyed the sunshine. Later we were shown to are room and we were not disapointed. Beautifully decorated, nice free toiletries, lovely bed, gorgeous bath and shower. It just felt homely but very stylish. The hotel had beautiful pieces of furniture and the stain glass windows are just wonderful.

The staff are very helpful, friendly, not at all snooty!! We had a wonderful stay at the hotel and plan to go back very soon.

My only criticism was that the cleaners broom cupbaord was right next to our room and from an early hour we could hear the hoover and cleaning equipment being put in and out of the cupboard and the cleaners seem to congregate outside are room from their morning catch up!!

  • Liked — The beautiful furniture and deco
  • Disliked — The cleaners broom cupboard next to our room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicsandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2008

We chose the Didsbury House Hotel over one of the large chain hotels in Manchester due to the reviews and I must say that we were unable to fault it.
We booked the Harvey Nichols package and we were not disappointed. When we arrived we were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff who advised us that our chauffeur will be waiting to pick us up at a certain time and showed us to our room. The room was lovely, the bed covered in rose petals (part of the package). We had a suite wich was very spacious and tastefully decorated, the cast iron bathtub was a nice touch too.
As the staff advised our chauffeur was there to take us to our meal on time, the meal was fantastic and the chauffeur was there waiting to take us back again.
Breakfast was lovely and made to order so was fresh and hot. We were welcomed in the morning by the staff and they were interested to see if we enjoyed our evening.
This hotel is great, very personal and we will definately say there again.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Bedroom was hot
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gemma_bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2008

I booked this hotel directly with the hotel and have to say the staff are fantastic, however sadly the hotel quality was not. It is situated on the outskirts of Didsbury village and is really on the edge of a housing estate.

The hotel is small and the communal rooms are nicely decorated, however our room was not worth the £190 we paid. We stayed in a duplex junior suite. The first room we arrived in had stains on the sofa and even though I had booked the room for two, we had only been given one set of towels.

However, when I mentioned this, the hotel did swiftly change our room. However, taking into consideration the price for one night, it did not provide that luxury touch. There was no dressing gowns, the coffee's etc were just the same as you would find in a travel lodge (instant sachets etc) and you even had to pay for the little bottles of water in the room; at £190 a night I would expect those to be complimentary. I felt that everything in the hotel was an extra, the rooms can only be booked room only and breakfast (which is superb) was £14.50 per head.

Overall, it is certainly not the best, no plasma tvs (the remote was held together with black insulation tape) and the shower flooded, would I stay there again? No, I would simply recommend an apartment in the centre of manchester which offered the same standard (but with added feature of all the mod cons) for half the price.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The rooms that tried to be trendy but failed due to their quality.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing