We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very hot hotel”
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Tain, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very hot hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband. In essence a lovely hotel, and the room we had was to an exceptional standard and different to the usual hotel rooms. In particular the shower, roll top bath were fantastic. The bed was very comfy and the staff we spoke to were very friendly and welcoming. However, there are a couple of things which could be better. Arriving at the hotel, couldn't help but notice the overflowing bins at the side of the parking area, not the best first impression. To be fair there were not there the following day. There was also dance music playing quite loudly as you entered, it was a bit annoying but that's my preference. The bedroom was also very hot, we made sure the radiator was off and the window was open, but it was still extremely hot. I did raise this at check out and the girl took my email saying the manager would email me, but I haven't heard anything. So a lovely hotel furnished to a high standard, but need to sort out a couple of things to be truly great.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bordeaux35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future. I have taken on board your comments and will look into them, as we take all feedback, whether it be good or bad seriously.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    141
    42
    16
    10
See reviews for
96
250
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

birthday afternoon tea for two at this cosy boutique hotel in Didsbury. Staff very helpful and friendly. Afternoon tea outstanding a real treat. The sandwiches were plentiful and the cakes were to die for! Don't eat lunch before you go!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrean51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. I am so happy you enjoyed your ever popular 'Afternoon Tea' and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Last nightwas our second stay at the Didsbury House Hotel, and it was as amazing as out first visit! The room (we stated in room 10, an eclectic villa I think) was outstanding and felt like our own little home away from home. We will certainly ask for this room again! The room facilities are of the highest quality, especially the wonderfully comfy bed and powerful shower. We had drinks and snacks in the bar before heading outdoor the evening and really got our evening off to a great start. The breakfast was fantastic, great choice and excellent service. That said, all staff we encountered were polite, friendly and happy to help. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Didsbury House Hotel to friends and family looking for a relaxing, intimate and welcoming stay at a glorious gem in the heaty of Didsbury. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Electic Villa's are amazing! We had the one at the side of the hotel and it was lovely and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our 'Amazing Hotel' and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Didsbury and it was as fabulous as the first time. The rooms are beautiful, we were upgraded due to being our anniversary. The roll top bath, petals on the bed and chocolate coated strawberries added to whole experience. The staff are welcoming and helpful allowing a peaceful stay by not over attending. The large sofas in the lounge are perfect for chilling out, we had drinks and antipasti followed by the cheese board for a late night cap. We will definitely return- but this time won't leave it for seven years.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M8axb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Many thanks for your recent review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay especially The roll top bath, petals on the bed and chocolate coated strawberries and that it added to whole experience. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here on the 26th February for 1 night and I have to say the hotel was excellent. The staff were fantastic and really helpful. The room was lovely with a roll top bath and an extremely comfortable bed - a welcome change to the generic bland rooms you normally get in hotels. The location of the hotel was really nice and actually quiet which I wasn't expecting being a few miles away from the city centre. Taking into account the quality of the rooms and the general nice feel of the place it is no wonder it is so highly ranked amongst hotels in Manchester. We are now looking for an excuse to come back to Manchester so we can stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Who needs and excuse to come and stay with us as we hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at The Didsbury House Hotel as a last minute get away . We had read the reviews on trip advisor and we were looking forward to a relaxing break . We were not disappointed , from checking in to checking out this hotel is excellent . The staff provided excellent service and made you feel at home . The room was exceptional , there was the odd mark on the walls and a crack along the shower floor but this did not distract from the luxurious feeling. The bed was the amazing and so was our nights sleep , it was slightly hot but we opened the window and this was fine . The added touches of the roll top bath and comfy chairs made this room luxurious .
The breakfast was also excellent quality , value for money and the service in the breakfast room was again exceptional .
We would definitely return and hopefully the will be soon .
We cannot recommend this hotel enough .
Great stay

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allybongo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel an 'Amazing Place'. We are very proud of what we offer here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We don't have a home large enough to host our own wedding, but we said right from out first visit, if we did it would be just like Didsbury House Hotel! We knew from our first showround that it was the perfect venue for us to host our ‘House Party’ so our close family and friends could join us to help celebrate our wedding. With amazing and enthusiastic staff, oodles of charm yet with a modern edge, Didsbury House made sure that all the planning we did prior to the ‘big weekend’ came together. We got married in January 2014, it was chucking it down with rain, but no one noticed they were all having such a great time! All the staff from the team who met our guests at reception, to those who helped host our cocktail hour before the wedding, to the team who served and prepared the food and looked after our guests into the early hours, we have to say that we were delighted with how we were all looked after. I have worked in the hospitality industry myself for about 15 years and trying to find a venue where you don't have to pick at even the little things speaks volumes. When you hold an event like this you have to see what your guests say as your day passes by in such a romantic haze, so 4 weeks after our wedding we are still getting thank you cards, saying what an awesome venue Didsbury House was, what amazing food (including the much needed breakfast for those with rather sore heads the following morning) ,stunning rooms and friendly service they all received. All our guests had a fantastic time and that it was the best wedding they had been too! Well we agree! Thank you to Andrew, Annemarie and their team for making our wedding weekend one that we will always remember. It’ll certainly be one that all our guests will be talking about for some time to come and that is because of Didsbury House and the team! We hope to come back next year to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.....if you are not fully booked with another fabulous wedding that is!!!!

Room Tip: If you are attending a wedding book the night before to make the most of the rooms....everyone is di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. We are so happy you chose Didsbury House Hotel for your wedding and we hope it has given you many memories that will last forever. On behalf of the team we wish you all the happiness in your future and we will keep you 1st anniversary in mind.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#9 of 118 in Manchester
434 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
637 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,315 reviews
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing