We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected to be fair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Airport Hotel
Ranked #98 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

After reading lots of reviews on here I wasn't sure what to expect to be honest.

Well I'm sat in the bar as I write this and it's much better than I expected. The room is small and cute. The bathroom is clean with toiletries provided and fresh clean towels. The bed is also comfy with fresh clean sheets. Yes it's not the ritz but really what do you expect for £35 in Manchester. We will definately stay again. The staff are helpful and it's generally not that bad.

Those who question it really must expect more than what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a very good experience. It was a special offer and included evening meal and a full bottle of wine as well as B&B.
All the staff were friendly and attentive.
The buffet dinner was excellent value, as was the breakfast in the morning.
The double bed was very comfortable, and the room quiet.

We have just read some other reviews of this property, but this, honestly, is an accurate account of our overnight stay, and we do hope to be able to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passingthrough186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It was cheaper to stay here and park than book a car parking space at the airport. But that is just about the only reason to stay here.

It's a very 70s hotel that needs renovation. I wouldn't choose to spend time here. The bus service to the airport was fine on the way there, but some hassle on the way back (finding the right place to be picked up, waiting a little while).

I'd think twice before staying again. But I might do if the price stays so low!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is the worse hotel (if thats what it can be called) I have ever seen.
We ( my 7 year old daughter and myself) arrived at 3am on 03/09/13 after a long flight. there was no information that we had to drive up to a locked green metal gate for it to open.
Once in the so called carpark there was broken glass everywhere obviously where car windows had been smashed.
We went to the reception and waited approx 10 minutes for some one to come and deal with us...we checked in and were given room 814...the door card didnt work so we had to get a new one...eventually once inside the room I could not beleive it...the room stunk of damp, moisture and god knows what else the room was filthy, dust everywhere not good for a child with asthma. I went straight back down to the reception and reported this.
The staff were just not interested..no customer care at all...We ended up leaving the hotel as it was just unacceptable.
I have since emailed and wrote to the hotel they have not replied to any of my 4 emails.
If anyone is thinking of booking this PLEASE save your money.
I stay at many hotel due to business and I can honestly say i have never seen anything as bad as this...Maybe i will report it to the ombudsman as it is that bad

Room Tip: AVOID...save your money and book an hotel at the airport or trafford centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanMcMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel was horrible. The staff on reception seemed disinterested and didn't explain anything, it was only when I asked did they reluctantly give me half hearted answered. We were given our room card with no explanation on where the lifts where. On entering our room it stunk of musk, revolting this smell stayed with me even on the plane to our holiday. The pictures on the site are completely different to the reality of this hell hole. The bed was clean, but the carpet needed a good Hoover, and there was bits of paper left round the room from the last guests. We didn't complain as my partner didn't want to cause a fuss as we were only there for a few hours and who wants to start their holiday on a bad note? So we decided to head the Trafford centre for food and had a few drinks in the hotel bar rather than relaxing in the room. The bar man was nice although he had flies hovering around his head... Another reason we opted to eat out! I would not recommend this place to anyone it is in dire need of a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a "does what it says on the tin" kind of place. Drive park, the spaces are STUPIDLY small, eat and sleep.

You wont enjoy your stay but it's ok.

The food in the restaurant isn't very nice, but it also isn't expensive.

The rooms are dated and mostly clean. Not nice but OK, not as good as where you are going once you get on the plane.

All in all if you are cheap it's ok and I couldn't manage more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandAssessEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Please dont stay here!!! Pay that bit extra and stay at the airport! This was the start of our honeymoon. We was given room number 122, hairs in the bed, dust over everything, dead moths everywhere, we went to complain and were given another room which was very slightly better. Fire alarm went off at 1am and the reception man didnt have a clue what to do. We went down the fire escape and found the fire exit near impossible to open. The reception person was way out his depth. He kept saying it was safe to go back to the room when he hadnt even checked if it was a false alarm. Overall a really bad hotel, thing that was decent was the car parking and the transfer to the airport via the taxi service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
2.5 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#66 of 121 in Manchester
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
6.6 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#76 of 121 in Manchester
106 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Airport Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Northenden, Manchester M22 4FH, England (Formerly Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £42 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travellers alike, The Britannia Manchester Airport Hotel is a modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Manchester Airport with a shuttle bus in operation 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing