We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Airport Hotel
Ranked #93 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

From the outside this hotel needs a serious overall,it's looks very dirty,the interior carpets need a good clean,but on the plus side every thing else was fine,the staff were very friendly and helpful,the transport to the airport was great,the food in the restaurant was very good,bed was very comfortable,for the price we paid we would stop here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    192
    288
    228
    578
See reviews for
228
516
117
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Everything the other reviews have said are true. Dirty room & stained carpet, hallways that stank of damp and cigarette smoke. Desperately in need of a refurb, the pictures the hotel have provided look nothing like the room we stayed in. Paid over £80 to stay here the night before our holiday flight, was offered a wake up call the night before which never came. Received a call 50 mins after we were supposed to get the call asking if we'd had our wake up call just as we were leaving to check out! Good job we'd set an alarm or could have risked missing our flight! The staff are pleasant enough, but I would avoid like the plague. Other couples on our flight who stayed at neighbouring Britannia hotels gave similar feedback about the poor state of the hotels. If we hadn't arrived late at night we would have checked out immediately.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

THE AIRPORT HOTEL, MANCHESTER, UK
This room was obtained on the last minute; however, booking last minute should not mean that the hotel hierarchy feel it is acceptable to shove unsuspecting people into any sort of gross, filthy room.
PROBLEMS:
BEDROOM:
Dirty and badly stained carpet.
Stained pillow (can see them clearly through the pillow case).
Black mold around the window (detrimental to health).
Rock-hard bed (worst nights sleep ever).
Extractor fan in bathroom doesn't work.
The lock on the bathroom door doesn't lock.
DOWNSTAIRS:
Evening meal was poor. Steak totally overdone, with a few chips and a bit of salad. And this after waiting an age for it. The table was dirty, so we told the staff, who simply handed us a cloth to clean it with. The staff serving were unshaven and unkempt.
The following night my wife and I went somewhere else for a meal. On getting back we learned from friends - who had braved the restaurant at the airport hotel - that they had had to wait two hours for their meal (and no, the place wasn't that busy to warrant a delay anywhere near that time frame).
Overall, the place is shabby and has the appearance of couldn't-care-less approach. To me, the place would not have been out of place in one of the former communist countries of Eastern Europe. I expected to turn the corner and to see George Smiley standing there in his mac.
Don't even consider this place: there are plenty of others to choose from in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a good room . . . In a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here with friends for 2 days for attending meetings nearby. We stayed on the 3rd floor. The bedding was thin & beds hard the bathroom small but clean with toiletries. The carpets are very badly stained & look old. It was a very basic styled room but the charge was for something more. Breakfast was a let down as was the evening meal due to the fact that the menu was depleted & none of us could have what we wanted. Even then service was extremely slow. The staff are friendly, helpful, busy & are let down by the conditions of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but not sure they are any better. Try a different floor because lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricochetsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed on route to airport, glad was only for 1 night, hotel very tired looking both in and out, bedrooms, bathroom and communal areas included. Ate in restaurant, food was horrid! Avoid unless you like staying in low grade style! I will not be staying again!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samsamblue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we would advise anyone wanting an overnight stay before flying to avoid this hotel

dirty, shabby, uninviting

dangerous parking area

a dreadful start to our holiday

we would never stay here again
worth paying a little extra for quality

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel last weekend and it was the worst place I've ever stayed. I paid €240 for an executive room, which I wasn't given. I had to stay in a standard room. When I checked into the room, I was greeted with FILTH. There was stains all over the walls, tea stains dripping down the radiator and back wall. The base of the bed had stains all around. You couldn't see through the window, it was that dirty. There was mould growing on the window ledge, and it was black with dirt. I've seen hostels in better condition than this hotel. (I'll upload ALL the pictures I took) Nothing about this hotel is similar to how they describe it or the pictures they have uploaded. By far, the most disgusting hotel I've ever stayed in. Don't waste your money people. Stay as far away from this hotel as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamhyh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.9 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.5 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
6.6 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 116 in Manchester
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Airport Hotel

Property: Britannia Airport Hotel
Address: Palatine Road | Northenden, Manchester M22 4FH, England (Formerly Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travellers alike, The Britannia Manchester Airport Hotel is a modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Manchester Airport with a shuttle bus in operation 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing