We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Airport Hotel
Ranked #92 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Third Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Having arrived after a terrible trip up the M6 we were greeted by the helpful reception, told us how to park the car who also booked our transfer to the airport the following day. we were on the 7th floor the rooms are a bit dated, bed was spotless bath room ok a few black marks ( I've seen worse) went down to the bar area where we had a pizza which was cooked well they even changed 1 of the toppings for us, sleep was great, next morning waiting in reception transfer was on time, this is our third time doing stay and fly, and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sperry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    185
    282
    217
    565
See reviews for
220
499
110
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was to stay in this hotel last October for one night with family. Unfortunately, or fortunately, depending on which way you look at it, I couldn't stay and gave my room to friends. My parents are in their late eighties and have stayed here a number of times. That will have been the last time as in the morning there was no hot water, and the chef hadn't turned up to do the breakfast. The friends I'd given my room to had to have a shower in cold water. I e-mailed customer services and was told I would get a reply in 28 days. I still haven't had a reply and have had to ring the hotel on numerous occasions without a reply to my queries. I got in touch with the General Manager of the hotel eventually, four months on, and he was quick to offer 10% back with no explanation as to why no one got in touch. I have tried getting through to Britannia but that's a dead end.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC67Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in late January 2014 prior to our holiday to Tenerife from Manchester airport. We'd booked the hotel through Thomas Cook as it was cheap and close to the airport. We then read the reviews on here and looked at photographs and became increasingly worried about what we are letting ourselves in for.. We arrived at Manchester around 9pm and were greeted by a friendly man who was extremely helpful giving us directions to the lift and offering a wake up call for our early morning departure. We then went up to the room which was on the 7th floor, and were pleasantly suprised by the cleanliness and size of the room. The tv was a bit outdated, and the toilet flush was a bit dodgy but other than that it was a very comfortable nights sleep with tea making facilities for the morning. I honestly have no idea what everyone was complaining about for this hotel, what are people expecting for such a cheap price anyway? Would deffo stay here if flying from Manchester again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenfrancess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Positive - friendly reception staff

Negatives (abridged version) - tired deco, dirty room, doors banging throughout the night as guests leave to catch flights, breakfast passable but guard your plate from the over zealous waiters they will disappear midbite. We paid a little more for an executive room that had wallpaper hanging off wall, no main light and a plethora of fungus growing in the bathroom. Forget it!!!!

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Where do i start!! Stayed hear for 4 nights and I can honestly say it is the worst hotel I have ever experienced! I did do my research on the hotel before i booked and I SHOULD have listened to the previous reviews! but it was cheap and convenient for a 4 night last Minuit break and every1 learns from their mistakes!.

Arriving at the hotel, reception/Restaurant bar area look nice and well presented but don't be fooled! Waiting at reception for 10 minutes, we were finally greeted by the receptionist. We were given our key and told our room was on the top floor so to make our way to the lift through the doors next to reception. Arriving at and stepping into the dirty littered lift which looked as though it hadn't been finished due to the large gap between the door and the wall behind ( and i mean large gap! ), we were then to realize this was just the start! Arriving on our floor you could smell the cigarette smoke before exiting the lift! we made our way down the gloomy, dirty, smelly corridor. arriving at our room ( which couldn't have been any further away from reception ) and opening the door me and my partner looked at each other in shock ( Shock that there are actually places like this out there! ). The floor was possibly worse then the car park! cigarette burns and what looked like sick stains everywhere, Crumbs of crisps all over the floor, white stains down the side of the bed covers, previous guests hairs all in the bath/sink and bed ( or maybe guests before them! ), urine stains on the toilet and if you haven't heard enough yet, wait for it! An empty Viagra packet down by the side of the bed!!! ( Yep you heard right! ) and it wasn't even like it was tucked under the bed it was in full view in the middle of the floor! it seemed as though the house keeper had not even attempted to clean this room but the bed was made up? so they must have entered the room? I called down to reception and explained to the girl that we would not stay in the room if we were paid to! she apologized and asked us to make our way back to reception which we did. Back in reception we were offered another room which at first i refused but as it was late we decided that we would have a look but i asked to view 2 rooms to give us an option. The first rooms decor was not that much different to our 1st encounter although the room seemed cleaner. we then viewed the 2nd room and to our shock, stepping into the room was like stepping into another hotel! what a difference! the decor was lovely and fresh, new bathroom suite, new fittings, TV from our era and not the 1700s like the last 1! It reminded me of a travelodge room ( Although the carpets were still filthy! ) so we decided to stay in this room. We informed reception of our decision and you would presume we would be offered a drink or something as an apology but nothing! It seemed that half of the hotel (The lower floors) had been modernized and the other half were saved for god knows who! Funny thing was we don't even smoke and were allocated a smoking room! I work as a receptionist in a busy hotel in Torquay and if guests had encountered the problems we had on our visit in our hotel they would be offered their money back straight away or at least a decent upgrade along with a bottle of wine but we barely got an apology! very poor customer service. If you want my honest opinion of this hotel, the reviews would be better if it was knocked to the ground. I think its fair to say we will not be returning to this or any other Brittania Hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Myself and a friend travelled to Manchester for a football game, we needed a hotel close to the airport and felt this one would be fine.
We could not have been more wrong.
As soon as we walked in we knew we were in for an awful experience.
The reception area is filthy, the bedrooms are awful, they look like they've not been refurbished in a hundred years.
The bed linen was so dirty that I placed some clothes on top of the bed and slept on top of them underneath some jackets. Carpets were badly stained.
The only decent thing about the room was the water pressure in the shower, apart from that the location is the only other decent thing about this dump.
If I could give it a rating of 0/5 I would - I'll never return and will never stay at another Brittania Hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.0 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.5 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
6.6 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#77 of 116 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Airport Hotel

Property: Britannia Airport Hotel
Address: Palatine Road | Northenden, Manchester M22 4FH, England (Formerly Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travellers alike, The Britannia Manchester Airport Hotel is a modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Manchester Airport with a shuttle bus in operation 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing