We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about going”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
Ranked #89 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed here last week for a night as a Spa treat for myself and partner. This was discussed the day before at time booking. When we arrived we were told the Whirl pool was not working and hadnt been working for months. Once our bags were dropped off to our room, decorated in a 1970's style we went to the leisure centre via reception "Oh sorry we've run out of towels" Traipse back to room for our towels, only 1 for a double room! Into the leisure centre to find sauna not in use, door fell off, whirl pool not working, shower broken and broken glass all over the steam room floor. Another guest who uses the squash courts says it has been like this for months!!! When asked if there was a duty manager we were told put your complaint in writing but dont expect an answer and guess what we're still waiting!!!

Don't go there for anything else apart from a 70's experience i.e. rooms, service, food and attitude

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveEck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here on 28th/29th September for a wedding. I got room 104, which is a suite, and the room was absolutely massive. Smelt a little musty, very cold at night and the toilet makes a funny humming noise 5 mins after you've flushed it - but for the price what you get it's really good value for money.
I probably wouldn't have been so happy with a normal double/twin as these are very pokey and the smoking rooms absolutely stink (as you'd expect), generally though all these rooms are very dated and require updating.
The breakfast was however cold on both mornings.
On the plus side, the staff are very friendly and they pulled out all the stops for the wedding itself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We atted a wedding there so we decided to book a room . We rang up and gave them our bank details the person we spoke to send that the payment was complete but when we arrived to check in they asked us to pay yet another £50 we will be looking into this though our bank.
When we was finding our room down the corriders smelt like damp and musty.The bed was uncomfortable it creaked everytime you moved the tv was making a buzzing sound doors banged in the corridor when people were going though them and there where matresses in the corrider. The food was okay but it could be miles better. The staff was freindly and helpful but they stood around alot doing nothing most of the time while they could be collecting glasses or something.

Room Tip: Don't bother going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1983war
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

we had our wedding and reception here last year, during the build up to the wedding, i had a few issues with the organiser, when i called to speak with them, it generally took about 3 or 4 days to call me back. they are quite non-commital aswell in that unless you know spefically want you want to the finer detail, they don't offer suggestions or help or anything like that the attitude is generally "well it's up to you really".
having said that... the area where we got married was nicely set out for us, smallish and only holds 60 people but it was very personal and intimate which is what we wanted it to be ! we chose to have the carvery for the meal and this went down really well with all our guests, nobody came to me with any complaints anyway ! the manager was brilliant to be fair, couldn't do enough for us and he guided us through the day really well, he made sure he asked the wedding party if there was anything they needed etc. the function room is nice and although i provided my own table decorations, they were put out how i had asked them to be and they did a really good job. there weren't any problems with any of the rooms that guests stayed in and we had a lovely wedding day.The food on the buffet at night was, by all accounts lovely, i didn't have any as was too busy speaking to people etc. the breakfast the following morning wasn't brilliant and could be improved on. the Dj at the reception played what we asked him to and didn't play what i asked him not to play ! the kids were pretty well catered for as much as you can at a wedding. the price was reasonable, not over the top and not cheap. you also get a meal or free nights stay on your first anniversary, which we haven't had yet as it's now been 5 days since i left a message for them to call me... something don't improve eh.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan503819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel has one advantage over many of its peers, it does joined rooms!

We travel with young children and like to be able to put them to bed and spend the evening in our room which this lets you do. The staff were friendly if not the most talkative and the rooms were acceptable, the kids loved the breakfast and the location is convenient for our needs.

On the evening we stayed there was a function on and this was noticeable, you were aware that it was going on. Whilst it didn't bother us I am aware lighter sleepers may find this off putting.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank AnotherGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I had my entire wedding ceremony here, and naturally there were many guests that booked a room for the night. The following morning we heard our guests had many problems such as: one guest had there room booking cancelled, another was placed in a smoking room when specifically asked for non-smoking, another found you had their room booked for the wrong days, another asked for a double room and got a twin room, another complained the decor of their room was in a poor state, another that they asked for a family room, and got 2 seperate rooms at opposite ends of the hotel, another that the state of the matress was terrible. Another that there were insufficient beds for the number of occupants booked for! And these are just the ones we have been told about, I'm sure they are probably many more who are too polite to tell me that anything was wrong.
I fully appreciate that when dealing with so many people, occasional mistakes do happen, but this is ridiculous. And further more they had lost one of the keys for one of the guests rooms, and asked US for it back saying the guest didn't hand it in (when we know they did).
The staff are hit and miss, some really good, others not so much. Just be prepared.

Room Tip: Confirm your booking a couple of days before you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ant440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Have used this hotel 3 times over a long period of time and I believe the decoration in the rooms is the same now as during the first visit and boy does it show. Bedrooms are in dire need of refurbishment, bedding reminds me of my grandmas back in the 70's!
Stayed 4 nights this week as I was working in the area, hotel booked through an agency so i don't know how much was paid but anymore than £30 a night would be too much. Inspite of all the staff being helpful, cheerful and efficient I will not stay there again until it has been upgraded. Breakfast not too bad , was hot enough for me and I always got what I asked for.
Sorry to the staff, but feel the need to warn potential patrons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gygooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.7 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
#69 of 120 in Manchester
102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Heaton Park) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#93 of 120 in Manchester
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club

Address: George Street, Manchester M25 9WS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Lodge And Leisure Club
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club Hotel Manchester
Fairways Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing