We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At BEST average accomadation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
Ranked #86 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Birmingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“At BEST average accomadation”
Reviewed 31 August 2006

My partner and i stayed overnight at Fairways Lodge whilst on a trip to see the sights of Manchester. After enjoying a day of shopping at the Trafford centre we ventured out to find our accomadation. On arrival the first thing my partner noticed was the strong smell of smoke in reception which was spread from the bar area. This smell unfortunatley filtered through almost all the hotel and could be smelt in our non-smoking bedroom. The room itself was very basic both the TV and electric in the bathroom were faulty. However it was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and always happy to help. The food in the restaurant was good value and enjoyable but the bar area was loud and and bustly as it contained many of the local residents. There was little around the complex other than a Tesco garage approximatley 2 miles away. We had mixed feelings regarding the hotel but suppose it is good value for money. However i would have been disappointed had we spent any more money for the stay.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The smoke
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hiyacampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    79
    58
    52
    70
See reviews for
73
106
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

We stayed at this hotelafter booking it last minute and didnt know what to expect.

I have to say that the facilities and the level of service were excellent for the price we paid.

We booked in for one night and the only (very small) downside was that our room was above a squash court.

The price we paid included bed and breakfast, full use of the leisure facilities and the bar on the site.

We also stayed at the hotel for an evening meal, again with the set 3 course menu offering excellent value. The meal was superb, and the service excellent. Being a resident we were also entitled to a free drink each with the meal. For 2 of us the dinner / bed and breakfast cost less than £70 and once we parked up we didnt have to leave again, everything was on site! A point to note is that the bar and leisure club are popular and used by people who live locally, and this can make the bar especially busy. However, there are sections of the hotel that are available for residents to sit and have a quiet drink near the restaurant.

The room we stayed in was extremely comfortable and clean, with all the facilities that you could want, shwer / bath / tea and coffee making etc. It was a good base to visit Manchester, and was easily accessed from the Ring Road.

And if you did forget anything, then their is a Tesco Superstore a mile or 2 up the road to get anything that you might need. My partner was extremely impressed by this!

We would definately use this hotel again, and would recommend this hotel to others wishing to stay in the area.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DonnaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2006

we stayed in htis hotel of feb last year booked on a late website for a last minute getaway.we read up on the hotel and booked a meal at the adjacent restaurant which was perfection itself for food and service and was excellent value for money.we used it as a base for exploring manchester as it is only 10 mins away from city centre and was a really pleasant stay.the hotels rooms were far from posh but clean and comfortable for the money and the leisure facilities were spotless.definately recommend it

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2daysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2006

Stayed at the Fairways Lodge December 28th and 29th. Greeted with a friendly receptionist who was cheerful despite having to work over the Christmas period. Room was clean and good value for money - hot chocolate and biscuit so I was happy! Breakfast was excellent with good selection if you did not wish to have the cooked meal option. On holiday to relax so spent a lazy morning in the sauna and jacuzzi - pre-ordered a Christmas meal that was especially cooked for us as restaurant was not busy (prior to New Year). Food was excellent, restuarant pleasant with nice background music, waitress cheerful. For a relaxing stay I would definately recommend the Fairways Lodge. It is better if you have a car but metro stop with direct link to Picadilly not too far away and taxi into town ranged from £9 - £13, what the heck you are on holiday!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TTbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2005

We paid £40/room for B&B, very cheap through a late getaway website. Only used it for a stop over on a long journey, great location for that. No atmosphere, like any businessman's motel. Little bit tatty but comfortable and great shower. We missed breakfast but had dinner in the bar, which was good value and well presented. Unfortunately there was not a "no smoking" area in the bar for eating. There is a gym and restaurant there too, but we didn't use them.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 September 2004

We booked this hotel through a late-booking website and received a very cheap rate for the weekend. As such we weren't expecting much, but were very pleasantly surprised! Staff were very friendly and efficient and the room (although fairly basic) was clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel facilities are excellent and the food was good and plentiful. The location isn't perfect, however it provided a great base for us to travel into Manchester both for shoppping and event entertainment.

I have since stayed at another Village hotel which was also of a very high standard.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and wouldn't hesitate to return myself.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 116 in Manchester
72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
#63 of 116 in Manchester
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
1,103 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club

Property: Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
Address: George Street, Manchester M25 9WS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Lodge And Leisure Club
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club Hotel Manchester
Fairways Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing