We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel great staff could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hotel great staff could have been better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

arrived 45 minutes early to be told we couldnt check in unless we paid an extra 10 pounds ,or if we waited 20 minutes we would get checked in then , but was continually told right up to 3 o clock the room wasnt ready (cant understand why,it would be ready straight away if id paid the extra). So at 3 o clock there was a sizeable queue everyone looked fed up and the bloke grudgingly let us check in then after a few sighs.my wife cant go in lifts so asked the girl behind the counter where the stairs were , just a vacant look was all she got back but fair play to the male behind the counter who directed her .
When we got to the room it was a nice spacious clean room , obviously it has been recently done up and is to a decent standard . Location wise the hotel is ideal for exploring manchester city centre, which we did and had a great time.
Apart from the carry on to get checked in no complaints about this hotel at all . But first impressions last , and i have to say its the first time ive not been allowed to check in until the exact time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brickfaebck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    177
    80
    40
    38
See reviews for
79
161
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Not sure what was going on in Manchester this weekend but all hotels we tried to book had doubled in price. We needed somewhere close to the Northern Quarter and this hotel seemed like our best bet as it wasn't too expensive and the website said it was close to where we were going.

We arrived in Manchester early, found the hotel and a cheap car park close by but decided not to try and check in as it was very early. We did however find the place we were going in the evening and it was less than 10 minutes away.

We came to check in around 6 o'clock, staff were very helpful despite the bar being busy and we got to our room within minutes.

When entering the room we were pleasantly surprised, it had everything we needed for the night and it was much nicer than we expected after reading some of the reviews. The only issue we had was we didn't have enough towels, but reception sorted some extras out for us. Also, there weren't many plug sockets in the room. When trying to charge two phones, use a hairdryer and straighteners it got a little difficult but nothing we couldn't work around.

While getting ready we did notice a lot of noise but it was nothing to complain about, due to the location of the hotel you expect it to attract people who want to have fun, that's the reason we were in Manchester.

I stayed this weekend with my boyfriend as we were attending a 30th birthday party in the Northern Quarter, we will definitely choose to stay in this hotel again as the location was perfect for us.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise don't stay here but if you're in Manchester for fun this hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_ielle20Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was delighted to secure the Ancoats Travelodge for just £34.00 on a bank holiday Sunday - to me, that's a fantastic deal.

The hotel is well-located, particularly for the Northern Quarter.

The facilities are OK - the bar area could do with being a bit more 'cozy', as it's quite brightly lit, and the tables are more 'cafe' standard than bar. We had a quick afternoon snack/drink here, and it was decent, albeit quite expensive.

The room itself was very large, capable of accommodating 3 people (although we were only two).

The only real drawback of this hotel is that the bathroom is slightly substandard. It was OK in terms of size (small but adequate), and *looked* clean, but the sink took ages to drain. I'm talking 30-45 minutes to drain a sink full of water. The sink was also quite smelly - there's obviously some kind of problem/blockage going on in the drains area here.

All in all, a good base to explore the city. Would stay again, but would expect this drainage issue to be resolved first.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

At 32 weeks pregnant this travel lodge is my idea of hell!!
Currently writing this laid in my own sweat in the very hotel in question.....no air con anywhere!! We have a main road facing room so that makes stay even worse, the noise is unbelievably bad. Would I recommend this hotel....simply no!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Staff are always very pleasant here, but this hotel was looking really tired before. Its recent refurbishment has greatly improved it, though. Some guests are put off by walking down the road at night from Piccadilly, but I've used it alone many times, and it's fine. If it worries you, walk slightly further along to Oldham Street, where the bus stops and takeaways mean that there are always more people around

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Budget Hotel that's not worth the $$ you save by staying here. There is no air conditioning and the windows open a mere 4 inches. The elevators are tiny and the temperature inside these aluminum hot boxes approaches 95 Degrees Farenheit. Stepping off and you're met with a blast of hot air from the hallway as there is zero air circulation inside the hotel. The rooms are no better. The hotel was handing out fans (yes, it's that bad), but there are so few outlets in the rooms that you'll need to purchase an 8 foot extension cord if you hope for any respite from the heat. The Hotel is on a main thoroughfare, so expect to be woken every hour by the traffic and sirens. I got about 3 hours of sleep in total. If you think you'd enjoy staying in a room that resembles the fiery pits of hell, by all means stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aldoinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the torrential rain, dressed for summer in my floral midi dress with pink sandals and a flower in my hair- some people say i look a bit like a female Jonathan Ross. We proceeded eventually to our room but encountered a difficult situation with the operation of the lift facility, however this was soon rectified by the long brown haired lady shes called Joanna and shes great. The lift is tropical bring ur bucket.
THE ROOM
Very very very very very hot! No clothes needed don't bring a suitcase. We decided not to venture in to Manchester for hot yoga and use our room instead, we laid the towels on the floor, got naked and hot yogad for 33.5 minutes then showered (together). The shower is amazingly wet, that coupled with the fluffy towels made for an amazing shower time.
We asked for a cool room so naturally they put us at the top of the building on the 5th floor.
The bar staff had some sort of bottle opener greed as they were not prepared to share one with us.
If u like the smell of sweat, wet dog and armpit stay here cus the heat in the room causes all of the above :-) gday

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#68 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Ancoats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Ancoats

Property: Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
Address: 22 Great Ancoats Street | Ancoats, Manchester M4 5AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Manchester Ancoats 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Ancoats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats Hotel Manchester
Travel Lodge Manchester
Manchester Travelodge
Manchester Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing