We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Night sleep ever - 5 star your having a laugh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Abergele
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worst Night sleep ever - 5 star your having a laugh”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

I am in room 721 whilst writing this. The blinds do not shut properly so the sun light is beaming in. Also for some stupid reason the temperature does not go below 18 degrees c in the room. I have twice complained that it is way too hot in here but have been fobbed off twice.

The windows do not open in the room so I have to just lie here boiling hot until my Mrs wakes up so we can check out.

This hotel is an absolute joke. 135.60 to lie in a boiling hot room all night and not be able to sleep.

I really really hope someone reads this before I check out which hopefully is sooner rather than later.

I can't wait until someone tries to offer us 10% off our next stay or something pathetically similar because they will be told where to shove it.

How stupid must you be to set a minimum temperature at 18 degrees c at the end of April.

Will definately be staying in the Lowry next time.
I CAN'T STRESS HIGHLY ENOUGH HOW MUCH OF A JOKE THIS HOTEL IS
DO NOT STAY HERE IT'S AWFUL.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Unfortunately this review was not published until you had left. Our Customer Service Manager, Stefan Rae has tried to contact you by telephone and we would be most grateful if you contact him at your own convenience. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,358
    1,285
    482
    229
    179
See reviews for
603
2,561
239
1,138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights. I enjoyed my stay, though dont think I would be willing to pay again that kind of money. Hotel is situated close to the city centre. Food is good, though the service can be a bit slow even when it is not busy. Wouldn't stay here again only because of the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poseidon_adventure77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay but concerned with your comments regarding slow service which is not our normal standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Have just returned from a Saturday night stay at this lovely hotel. The staff are charming and sorted out a couple of minor glitches efficiently. On arrival we were allocated a twin room when my booking with expedia stated I had booked a double room; apparently, this happens with bookings through 3rd parties so the guy on reception recommended you always contact the hotel directly after making a booking this way. Luckily, we nabbed the last double bed in the hotel! Then our tv didn't work but a guy appeared within 10 mins to fix it - my partner was waiting on the football results!! TV was fixed but not the movie channel, which we would never have watched anyway. In any event, we were sent up glasses of wine to apolgise which was a nice touch. Room was clean and I loved the view from our 7th floor room of the clock tower of the town hall. Although the air con is rather noisy, the hotel itself was blissfully quiet, so enjoyed a good night's sleep. The location is excellent and I enjoyed the walk through Albert Square under the watchful eyes of Prince Albert, to head for some retail therapy on a very cold and windy Sunday.

Room Tip: If your room is high up you get views across the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for all of your comments on our service, I was disappointed to read of your minor glitches but pleased that we resolved them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I picked this hotel as it was the Free Trade Hall prior to Radisson purchasing the building. The facade is still the same but the hotel itself is beautiful and modern. Our room was on the 10th floor and was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bed was also very comfortable. The concierge was helpful. The breakfast was a bit pricey for what it was and probably the "worst" part of the stay, although it wasn't bad. Overall it was a nice visit and a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Added value rates which include breakfast are available via our own website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed at the Radisson last weekend for two nights.
We had a room on the 12th floor which wasn't the most spacious but just fine for our two night stay. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for longer than that as there are no drawers to put clothes and not that much hanging space.
I wouldn't suggest this hotel for new couples as the bathroom set up is very open to the bedroom.... they've made the most of a small space in the actual bathroom and the sink/wardrobe area is open to the bedroom.
Check in was very informative, where we recieved a card with a complimentary movie & drink in the bar each. This was a nice touch.
The concierge was also very helpful with our luiggage.
The hotel location is ideal, a 2 min walk to deansgate & nice restaurants.
Breakfast on sunday was very busy depsite lastig till 12noon, and the set up they had wasn't very 21st century in my opinion. They could have been more organised about which guests had already booked breakfast and which hadn't. When we asked to cancel breakfast for the following day they advised it was included in our package, pity the restaurant staff didn't know this.
The bar staff (Chris) was really helpful and friendly, we enjoyed a few nice cocktails & some bubbly.
We had afternoon tea which was delightful, followed by a spa treatment which was also most enjoyable.
The spa is very well set up with modern gym quipment, a lovely pool, jazuzzi, sauna & steam - well worth a visit while you stay.
It's a pity none of the central hotels can cater for parking or offer a discounted rate as this cost us a whack for the whole weekend.
I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPicky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our product and service. I was disappointed to read your comment regarding breakfast, please be assured this is not our normal standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here with my partner for a weekend, I regularily stay in some very nice hotels that are provided in the line of my work and this hotel was immaculate.
The service was second to non as you would expect, the staff very helpfull polite and über professional.
I've not experienced better service in England to date, excellent breakfast an service all the way through,
It felt like I was in a 5 star American hotel complete customer satisfaction that is hard to find over here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrysporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
I was delighted to read this great review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Usually I stay at the Lowry but thought I would try this hotel, I booked the day before on line a luxury double for my girlfriend and myself, upon arrival we waited 10 mins while one staff member ran check in, slowly checking in people before us ( I was late for a meeting ) and then when we checked in we were told they only had a twin.
We asked for an upgrade to a double better room as it was their error, they said they would but we would have to pay an extra £40 on top of the £150, asked to see the manager and told we would have to wait 10/15 mins, as I was late I said it’s not acceptable, I cancelled, drove to the Lowry and got a better rate and free breakfast, the general manager even came out to greet us and welcome us back.

Stay at the Lowry if you want good service and professional standards of treatment.

We won’t be trying this hotel again which is their loss as I stay in Manchester every month on business and I have many business colleagues who stay also, I will be telling them about my experience, poor…..

Room Tip: We will not be going again so cant comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
I would like to explain that room types booked via 3rd party web sites are on request only. I am sorry you chose to stay elsewhere but appreciate personal preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#41 of 118 in Manchester
4,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing