We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decidedly average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #19 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Although there was little to fault with this hotel, compared to others we have stayed at, it was really nothing special.

Check in was slow even though this was pre-booked in December last year. ToIt very much felt like we had just turned up off the street and were asking to stay for one night. We took the lift to our 10th floor room and we were filled with eager anticpation at the thought of a grand scenic view... But it is fair to say we were both disappointed with the size of the room and the unimpressive vista - of all the windows in a neighbouring apartment block and seeing people eating and lying semi-naked on their beds was only a little more interesting than the tarpaulin covered roof of the GMEX! 'Goldfish bowl' and 'claustrophobic' were the exact words we used!

The ipod docking station didn't work, lighting was generally poor especially in the dressing area and the bed linen throw had some crusting which was most interesting although we didn't want to examine this too deeply.

Well stocked mini bar if you wanted it, mineral water and tea/coffee available and nice grapefruit scented soap/shampoo in the bathroom were plus points. The bathroom was adjoined to the bedroom and just didn't feel very private and when lying in bed you could see the other person 'on the loo' via the dressing room mirror - funny for us but perhaps not so if you weren't so uninhibited with your partner or friend.

Clearly the hotel is a good all-round venue for a lot of people, but for us, we just didn't think it was very special and overall felt a little tired in some areas. But did it offer value for money on the rate we paid - yes - but only just.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatandSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

I am sorry that you were disappointed and would like to apologise for the fault with the docking station and bed throw. I would like to re-assure readers there is a bathroom door which provides full privacy when closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,661 - 4,667 of 5,766 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Very good city / business hotel, great location to the conference centre. Good bar with excellent, friendly staff. Free wi Fi which is a must, I would certainly recommend this hotel for business users, a little sterile if on personal trip to Manchester.

Rooms very clean and faultles.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davebes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Arrived at 4pm on a windy Manchester afternoon to a great smile informed my room was ready checked in after couple of minutes
The room was modern and decorated to a high standard
Catch up weekend with the girls, so off to the bar
The bar is wonderfully decorated with a large red light which is the centre piece of the bar
The waiters in the bar were good fun and were very attentive
The breakfast was served in the room where roomservice came with a table and chairs arranged the room
All in all a great experience

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your kind compliments on our product and service. I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My daughter was married at the Radisson on Saturday, 12 May. Even though they had the wedding guests to contend with as well as the QPR team who were also staying at the hotel that weekend the staff were friendly, helpful, patient and considerate, helping to make this day very, very special. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Booked 2 double rooms for my husband and his brother for there 40th birthday. Rooms were beautiful with excellent views of the city. On arrival there was a complimentary birthday cake. Which was a lovely surprise. Would book this hotel again ina heart beat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

I am pleased your husband enjoyed his birthday, thank you for this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

From the start, pure customer service. We arrived late from Manchester airport, and were very tired. I checked in with my Wife, no queing or hassle, the check in staff were bubbly and considering it was an FA cup final weekend for Man U and City, it was again a wonderful and calming experience. I was upgraded on arrival automatically to a deluxe room, which pleased me considering BMI kept us on board for 45mins due to a technical malfunction at Manchester airport, tired legs !!!.

The room was very with the artistic crowd, and the bathrooms didn't dissapoint. all in all a fabulous room and the room service was not bad either.

Breakfast was a treat, and you can anything from full english to a Continental.

I have reviewed a lot of establishments and please believe me when I say, if your gonna stay in Manc, then stay here, you will not leave unhappy, but with a smile, and a feeling of
"he was right to suggest this place"

Special thanks to Stefan Rae Customer Services Manager, who did his job fantastically and is a true asset to Radisson.

A wonderful experience-even if it was only 1 night........

Room Tip: 1st floor, near the lobby and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelastrealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for your kind compliments on our product and service and for your recommendation. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Having previously stayed at the Radisson in 2010 and The Lowry in 2011, we decided to return to the Radisson Edwardian again. We weren't disappointed as standards remain high and our overall stay was a very comfortable one. Staff here are a credit to the hotel. On arrival, Joshua on the front desk was professional yet friendly. As we made our way to the lifts, another member of the reception staff called for the lift and asked if we needed assistance with our bags. Making our way around, housekeeping staff smiled and said hello. Our room (614) was located on the end so we had very little noise or disturbance. We made use of the on-site gym which is well equipped and the swimming pool is a great bonus. We didn't eat at the hotel (for breakfast, lunch or dinner) only because there are so many good places nearby. This hotel is really well located. Walking distance to pretty much anywhere. During our weekend we had afternoon tea at the (slightly bonkers but fun) Richmond Tea Rooms, a great meal at the legendary Yang Sing in Chinatown, sky-high drinks (at sky high prices) at the Cloud 23 bar at the Hilton on Deansgate and cried ourselves with laughter at the Comedy Store at Castlefield. Manchester is a great city... friendly and lively, a great combination for a weekend break and we will definitely return to the Radisson on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

I am delighted you chose to return, thank you for your great comments on our product and service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.4 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £94 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern luxury & style in Manchester’s historic Free Trade Hall with elegant rooms & suites, free high-speed WiFi on unlimited devices, luxurious spa & large swimming pool. Steak & Lobster serves mouth-watering steaks, lobster, salads & toasted brioche rolls, & Opus One offers afternoon tea, bistro bites & cocktails. Next to the Convention Centre & conference quarter, close to buzzing Deansgate & linked to Manchester’s rail stations by free shuttlebus. 22 private meeting rooms host 2-500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing