We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lubeck, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent central hotel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked a night away with my mum in Manchester, having stayed at different hotels within the Radisson chain on many occasions before, I booked a room in their central Manchester hotel - I was not disappointed! Check in was easy, the room was great - twin with 2 single beds, room facilities excellent - all the staff we came into contact with were extremely helpful and very friendly - will definitely book this hotel again when requiring accommodation in Manchester.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
I am pleased you and your Mum enjoyed your stay, thank you for your compliments on our standards of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,321
    1,271
    477
    227
    175
See reviews for
595
2,528
237
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in early January. We arrived before check in time and were able to get a room right away ( this is important to us when we fly in from overseas). The room was quite small, but comfortable enough. We book a weekend package that included breakfast and afternoon tea. The breakfast was excellent and the tea was just OK. We almost missed tea time because the staff failed to give us our wake up call the first day.
One of the main reasons we chose this hotel is because it had a swimming pool,and we did enjoy that. A big negative was having 2 small incorrect charges placed on my credit card after we left. I had to email a few times and call to have these removed. Just the kind of hassle that nobody needs, and it was not appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x-well-traveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. We are proud of our high standards so I am sorry that we overlooked your wake up call and for the error with your account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

As a treat booked thus hotel following a below standard visit at another hotel. Upgraded to a city view, at the time of booking I didn't realise that this could be looking away from the city as opposed to looking into the city. The room was changed for a view but smaller room. The hotel have offered to do something on my next visit !!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HatcherAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with the view from your room, due to our central location the views do vary. When you next visit please contact us in advance so that we can allocate a city view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

It was my 30th birthday so decided to stay here for two nights between the 27-29th January. A stunning hotel and service to match. Greeted at the door and bags carried, quick and polite check in. The room was modern, clean and spacious. We did not use the restaurant as had reservations elsewhere for both nights but used the bar, which was very nice and had a good selection of drinks. The finger food was also lovely in the bar. Used the Pool and facilities one afternoon and girlfriend had a treatment in the Spa both of which were fantastic. Returned to our room the second evening to find a small cake and platter saying Happy Birthday from hotel which was a lovely touch. The location is right in the middle of Manchester and there are always taxis outside if it's too far to walk. The hotel itself looks amazing inside with modern stylings while contained in a conservation building. All the staff were very polite, talkative and helpful from the cleaners, to bar staff and front of house staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get a good view, but any of the rooms are lovely to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogormanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebrations. Thank you for all of these kind compliments on our service, product and location. We appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This 5 star hotel combines classic elegance with ultra modern facilities.
The reception staff are helpful and friendly and the bar staff (look out for David) in Opus make you feel very special.
The bedrooms are spacious and well equipped. Fab bathroom with full size bath and walk in shower. Prices for food and drink are a little high but we didn't mind paying extra for a hotel of this standard.
This is our third visit to this hotel and we will continue to stay there when we visit Manchester.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your return visit, thank you for this excellent review of your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked this hotel because it was highly rated, but service was poor, on arrival they had the reservation information incorrect, that was rectified and I booked dinner in the Opus1 restaurant, I requested 8pm but was told it was fully booked between 8 and 9.30pm and was offered 7.30pm. On reaching the deluxe room with a city view we found it lacked some of the refinements I would have expected, the soap dispenser in the shower did not work and there was no hotel guide in the room to mention a couple. We went for dinner at 7.30pm and on our arrival there was no one to greet us, we found someone who then directed us to another lady who took our room number, logged it in and showed us to our table. The restaurant was less than half full but we seemed to wait an age to be served. The menu was very limited, great if you love fish but very little choice if you don't, and I don't. There were only two starters I could chose from to suit my taste and only two main courses so I opted for goats cheese as a starter and fillet steak as the main course, I have to say when they arrived the meal was outstanding and very well presented, but we waited so long for it to arrive, and also waited a long time for our used plates to be removed. We wanted the wine menu and looked around trying to catch someone's attention but seem to be ignored it took the best part of fifteen minutes to get it, when the wine arrived the waitress mumbled and I could not hear her, I was tempted to say could you mumble that again please but I am far too polite. After two hours in the restaurant, not by choice, we went to leave, my girlfriend walked in front of me, a young man approached me and asked if I wanted to pay the bill or put it on the room, I felt as though he thought we were trying to leave without paying, I told him on the room, I was told I had to sign for it, when he logged into his computer he found we had a reservation and did not need to sign, he apologised for his mistake, but it was all very unprofessional. At no time was the restaurant anything like full, so I do not understand why 8pm was not available. It was supposed to be a romantic evening but found myself apologising for choosing the venue. To make matters worse the room electronic alarm clock went off at 6am Sunday morning, I would have expected when the room was prepared this would have been checked and cleared. On departure again the receptionist had the incorrect information and I had to wait while it was rectified. The hotel is nice but the service was not what I expected, I normally stay at the Lowry and will do again in the future, but I don't think I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide this detailed review of your stay. I was concerned to read that you were disappointed with your experience here. We do recall you visit and our Restaurant Manager has already tried to make contact with you so we could be most grateful if you could contact him at your convenience so that he may discuss this with you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just stayed last night and what a lovely hotel. Myself and my mum stayed over after watching Brandon cole at the opera house. We stayed in a twin room which was very spacious.
Reception staff were really helpful, as were the bar and restaurant staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
Meal was gorgeous and not too big but filled you up. And the bar serve the best strawberry daiquiri I have tasted in a long while.
Only downside was the breakfast. It was lovely but the area the buffet was in was too small for the amount of guests send May be us but we found it odd...no fried eggs. But we just ordered them instead.
Did not use the pool or spa which was a shame as it looked lovely.
Would defiantly return x

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dancer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your time here and hope you can visit again soon. I am sorry you weren't offered our a la carte breakfast menu in the first instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 117 in Manchester
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 117 in Manchester
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing