We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Birthday Celebrations - 5 Star Setting ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Class Birthday Celebrations - 5 Star Setting ”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I make no secret I'm a lover of the Radisson Blu Manchester model , the high bar they set regards first class all round service is infectious!

I recently celebrated my birthday on the 15th of February with another large dollop of self indulgence at this Hotel . Stefan Rae the Customer Service Manager who I now class as a close friend did not hold back on the special touches to deliver a VIP experience I will not forget in a hurry !!

The team with a capital T delivered once more , this shining light of a home from home truly is a rare gem of a find ! Gary & Stuart Concierge have every possible contact you could need , even some you wouldn't think exist and nothing to much trouble !!

George and his front of house team function in sometime hectic but controlled fashion at high volume periods like any hotel , but there professionalism and due courtesy really is to be admired .

The cocktail bar table service in the champagne bar a real treat and what I think very reasonable prices for a 5 star establishment . The cocktails themselves at £10 a shout fantastic value when considering made from scratch with fresh ingredients .

The important bed for the night as comfy as ever and found deep peaceful sleep once more . The added touch of breakfast in bed a true treat and will experience again!

The overall experience first class and my only worry us this hotel is very popular and increasingly harder to gain reservations !

Note to Stefan please expand or extend quickly , the secret is out on this ever improving truly advertised 5 star hotel !!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SteveLEaton1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebration and that Stefan, George and the team provided you with our five star service. Thank you for all of your very kind comments, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,327
    1,275
    477
    227
    175
See reviews for
596
2,534
237
1,131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The second time we have stayed at this hotel and we cant fault it! The staff are excellent and extremely helpful! The rooms are very clean and the bed sooooo comfy! We arrived at 12pm, check in isnt until 2pm but our room was ready on arrival! Will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JessicaFay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your return visit and had a comfortable stay, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I stayed one night at the Radisson Blu in a junior suite on the top floor. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good. The main room of the suite was very good, good size well appointed, the bedroom was adequate in size the bed was also very good.
The whole experience was badly let down by perhaps some of the worst bathroom design we have come across in an hotel of this standard.

1) There is a very short corridor off the bedroom, separated by a sliding glazed door, in which are two large wardrobes etc. At the end of this is a basin and mirror in a narrow space. There is nowhere to put any toiletries by the basin. We could only find a light switch for this corridor in the bedroom.
The basin was blocked, taking an age to drain. We asked for this to be looked at when we went out in the afternoon. Apparently this did happen but it was no better - there was talk of a design fault - but actually we still believe it was just blocked. (The bath water did drain). We advised reception when we left to continue to look at this as no guest would want this and could be considerably more vocal than we had been. We were going to be there just the one night.

2) Off this corridor not separated by any door (which clearly had been there at some point as you could see where hinges had been but I imagine this door would have made it very difficult to maneouvre) was a small area with a shower, WC and bath.

3) The shower had side spouts and a door that opened inwards. It was impossible to guage the water temperature of the shower without committing yourself to being in it. If you left the door open the side spouts shot water out into the small area of floor between the shower and the bath on the other side. Neither of us attempted to have a shower in the end.

4) The arrangement therefore meant there was nothing between any steam from the shower or the WC and the wardrobes, opposite the WC ,in the corridor.

One of the things you spend considerable money for in a hotel is to have confidence in the bathroom facilities. This was after all a suite. What you got you could put up with for a night but any longer would not have been nice.

So what to say. Otherwise a good hotel; otherwise a good living area for the suite (and a balcony), but wrecked by a clearly badly designed and inadequate bathroom. And yet what can the hotel do about it ?

It has to lose 2 stars for this.

Room Tip: The whole review is about the inadequacy of the bathroom in a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear9IsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We read your review regarding our recently refurbished suite which has proved to be extremely popular and realise that individual tastes are subjective. We do offer a range of 23 suites that have captured our award winning experience well. I can confirm that we have recently been re-accredited with our 5 Gold Star status
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Never stayed at a Radisson Blu before so a little dubious. No need, because we were very pleased. Perfect spot for walking to the theatre to see Dame Edna and also could walk to San Carlo. Room and bathroom very clean and comfortable and the staff seemed friendly. All we could have wanted.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vmtownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit and hope it will be the first of many. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were visiting Manchester on a Sunday evening to see Michael Buble and we chose to make a little more of the event and decided to stay at the Edwardian Radisson Blu in Manchester (not to be mistaken the Radisson Blu at Machester Airport) The hotel was easy to find and although it does not have its own parking there are NCP secure car parking close by. It is an excellent location in a smart part of the city and within easy walking distance of everything in the city. It has a very modern feel in an old established building - a real twist of tradition and contemporary that works well. We chose a city view high room and were not disappointed with the view. The room was very comfortable and made good use of the space available to give you everything that you needed. As with all modern hotels you need to regulate the room temperature to suit personal preferences. We had a gentleman's afternoon tea which was taken in place of lunch and dinner and sufficed well - great savouries! After the show we went back to the hotel and had some amazing cocktails. Breakfast was good with a large buffet choice. We went out shopping and returned in the early evening to collect our belongings but before leaving we ate steak / lobster and it was delicious! The most amazing part of the hotel is the staff - David on reception was a star! He remembered us each time we passed by and enquired about our day asked if he could help in anyway, booked our taxis, recommended stores, restaurants etc. truly fabulous front of house! Gary the concierge was great, advising on parking, loaning us umbrellas, taking care of our luggage and helping make the stay extremely easy. Nadara took great care of us supplying amazing service of our cocktails on the Sunday evening! We are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyLaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in such detail. I was pleased to read all of your very kind compliments and hope you will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel bathroom and room everything you need for a city stay,spa and pool area very nice everything working steam sauna etc.Did not eat in the hotel but the bar had its usual higher prices to be expected but a 10% service charge on every drink at the bar is a bit of a liberty I did not pay it but if I was not checking my bill I would have paid an extra £7 in service charge for the privalage of the bar staff pouring my drinks.Dont think you would be disappointed staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and would like to confirm that the service charge you mention is optional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were visiting Manchester for a night to go and see Michael Buble and we chose to stay at the Radisson Blu. Excellent location in a smart part of the city and within easy walking distance of everything in the city. Very modern feel in an old established building. We chose a city view high room and were not disappointed with the view. The room was very comfortable. As with all modern hotels you need to regulate the temperature so that the room doesn't get too hot in the night (we forgot to do this so woke up in the night too hot). Breakfast was good with a large buffet choice

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed the vista from our City View room, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 118 in Manchester
4,310 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 118 in Manchester
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing