We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times as it's always been very convenient for the following day's work in the Deansgate/Spinningfield's area. Yes it's one of the pricier hotels in manchester, but it's worth every penny for faultless service and standards of accommodation.

My only regrets are (1) I don't get to stay here more often and (2) it took me so long to realise how good the spa/gym and pool are!

Some deals can be had and I always book direct.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandpa-Merkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for this excellent review, I am delighted you enjoy your visits and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,713 - 3,719 of 5,902 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We had amazing afternoon tea here on Sunday. We've been here before for dinner and enjoyed it, but the afternoon tea experience topped it for us.
We had the gentleman's tea and the traditional and what a change for the better to have mini fish and chips and Yorkshire pudding too. My husband also chose the pint rather than the champagne option which he loved.
Service was good and it was not in your face and we were just left to chill and enjoy our surroundings.
We have booked to actually stay in the hotel in June for a couple of nights so really hope that the rooms live up to our expectations as the eating options have.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Slincalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

I am delighted you enjoyed our afternoon tea offering, the Gentleman's option has indeed proved very popular. We look forward to seeing you again in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel for a charity dinner. This was our second time here and it was even better. We stayed in the Daltry suite, fabulous room, with outside seating area, plenty of space and very comfy bed.
The service at dinner was brilliant, all food was served on time and hot, presentation was impeccable.
Staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast service is excellent, with a buffet style of cereals and meats and a cooked breakfast for a hearty start to the day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank BandMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Alfresco suites, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

You walk in to the Radisson Edwardian Manchester, a building of old and new which seemingly should offer the finest hospitality and fine dining. Upon arrival, not one member of staff offered us a hello or a smile. Trying to find someone to seat us was even harder. The room which hadn't been uplifted in almost 3 years was dark (almost seedy) and loud with what seemed inappropriate music for such an occasion. Sandwiches not equal in size, (a distinct lack of variety too) undercooked scones which were still wet inside but over cooked on the outside was probably due to lack of understanding about oven temperature. Even the shape of scones were dismally executed with odd shapes served on the cake stand. The last tier had cakes that were equally baked days before and certainly had nothing to win us over with the already failing set up. Alas I was glad to take my partner who is like a dustbin to eat all the rubbish. The waiter Thomas was delightful yet seeming to be running around whilst managers appeared to be too interested in chatting to each other, dancing or cuddling mid floor. Had the service been better we would have probably been escorted out after 35 minutes. The ambience and feel of this terrific building was largely let down by staff who were insincere and poorly equipped to undertake a respectable afternoon tea. You could say the Radisson Edwardian is all fur coat and no knickers!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GluteusMaximus1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Afternoon Tea here at The Free Trade Hall. I was concerned to read your comments, particularly as we receive lots of positive feedback on our award-winning product and service. I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience. So as not to mislead other readers, Opus Restaurant has recently undergone a substantial upgrade culminating in the our stunning Colonnade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Visited last night as part of a large corporate event and as ever the Radisson delivered and then some more. The food for 200+ guests was of restaurant standard and the staff could not have been better. Fabulous rooms, wonderful location as befits the best hotel in Manchester. Breakfast was lovely although I would make one minor observation that they could perhaps have been a couple more staff on hand. This is a gem in the centre of Manchester and our charity event is very grateful for their help in making the night a success. IH.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank ianandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

I am pleased to read that your event was a success, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just eaten breakfast after an excellent nights sleep. I would like to commend Tami who served us to breakfast. She must be the cheeriest and nicest member of staff whom I have ever had the pleasure of being served by in over 30years of regularly staying in hotels. Having said that the rest of the breakfast team were also very attentive, pleasant and cheery, but Tami stood out. As for the hotel in general, a very high standard and well positioned for Manchester City centre. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on our service standards, we appreciate your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Really old fashioned looking on the outside but beautifully modern on the inside.excellent facilities with pool,sauna,steam room,gym.nice bar and restaurant.nice room though like all good hotels slightly overpriced mini bar.nice location for city centre shopping and entertainment.fantastic value as long as you pay the standard rates rather than inflated rates when hotel is extremely busy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

I am pleased you enjoyed your city break, thank you for this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 121 in Manchester
1,500 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £79 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern luxury & style in Manchester’s historic Free Trade Hall with elegant rooms & suites, free high-speed WiFi on unlimited devices, luxurious spa & large swimming pool. Steak & Lobster serves mouth-watering steaks, lobster, salads & toasted brioche rolls, & Opus One offers afternoon tea, bistro bites & cocktails. Next to the Convention Centre & conference quarter, close to buzzing Deansgate & linked to Manchester’s rail stations by free shuttlebus. 22 private meeting rooms host 2-500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing