We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern Hotel, Pleasant Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Modern Hotel, Pleasant Service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here one night on business. After staying at some fairly awful hotels in Manchester in the past this was a pleasant change. The public areas are nice, the room comfortable with a modern feel. The free wifi was being temperamental the night I stayed but the receptionist quickly sorted it by giving me access to the secure network.

I ate in the Steak and Lobster restaurant. The steak was ok, a bit over seasoned but pretty good value with the limitless fries. The breakfast in the same restaurant was very good with very pleasant service. I would definitely choose to return on future visits.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear theGEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to wite this review of the hotel and share your experience with other like minded travellers. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Manchester

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,249
    1,253
    463
    223
    172
See reviews for
582
2,469
237
1,104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is integrated within a classy conversion of a historic building. The location is ideal for key central sites. The staff were friendly and professional. Radisson are reliable in our view. It was good enough for the Sri Lankan test cricket players who were staying when we were there. I would recommend to good friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your time with us. We hope that you will return to us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel looks a little bit smarter than your average Hilton or Holiday Inn and, at first glance, the extra money seems well spent - however there are plenty of shortcomings.
The "nearby" car park requires a torturous journey by foot (it is under a conference centre) and an even longer journey by car around a long one way system.
When we arrived the reception area had been given to a wedding party. It was a long hard struggle to push past the guests and the drinks and food being served. What a crazy place to site a wedding reception!
The rooms look well designed - but the attractive appearance is undermined by the poor functionality. The "master" side of the bed had switches that controlled room lights and reading lights both sides of the bed. The other side, my wife discovered, had one switch that allowed her to only control my reading light!. Yes, we did try every possible combination of switch positions - but this switch had been incorrectly wired and obviously never corrected.
The trendy glass bathroom basin had two sizeable and dangerous chips on the lip. The shaving mirror had been mounted at a very low level so that a lady could sit at the mirror and apply makeup - this made it impossible to use as a shaving mirror without kneeling on the floor.
The shower is not an enclosure but a "wet room" design without the space necessary /for a wet room. After the shower is used the toilet floor area is soaking wet - a really poor piece of design.
Expect long queues for lifts and breakfast.
I was really glad we were only staying one night

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We recommend that our guests use the NCP Great Northern Car Park as, as you mention the car park for Manchester Central is underground and can be difficult to navigate your way t the hotel from this site. The hotel is proud to have a 24 hour maintenance team that are on hand to correct any room fault that has occurred after the room inspection by our Housekeeping department. I am sorry that you found the arrival drinks for the in house wedding to be an inconvenience. This area is very popular with guests using the any of the 26 different function spaces the hotel offers in the luxury market place.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was my wife's birthday so we flew to Manchester to watch her idol, Prince, performing with his new band. We wanted to do it with a bit of style so decided to book a 5 star hotel. Amazingly, via bookings.com, we got a great rate on this hotel and so booked it in a heartbeat.

If you've never been to Manchester, or haven't been for a few years, then you're in for a treat. Like Liverpool it is well advanced in a physical and cultural makeover. Gone are the run down streets, buildings and shops, in are diverse and stylish bars, restaurants and night spots.

We were blessed with good weather, which is never a 'given' in this part of the world but it added to the overall feel or prosperity to the place.

And so, nestled centrally in this regenerated city, is the Radisson Blu Edwardian.

If a little dark in reception its is certainly welcoming. It's very modern, clean and has an air of new york sophistication to it. We stayed on the 10th floor and had views of over the city from a full length glass window. Beds are large, clean and comfortable. Our room had a smart TV, IPOD docking station, mini bar/ fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, bath and shower, bath robes......It all looked brand new.

The spa was of a similar quality as was the bar and restaurant. The best bit? The concierge. Jimmy Fung, my contact at the concierge, managed to get us a table at a restaurant that was fully booked to members of the public, he arranged collection and storage of jewellery for me for my wife and laid it out in our room upon our arrival, he sourced tickets and entry to private bars. In a nutshell, without him we would have had half the fun we had. Lesson learned: Look after the concierge person and they'll look after you.

To summarise this hotel ticks all the boxes for an inner city stay. Check out bookings.com and get it at the sort of price you'd expect to pay for a holiday inn.

Room Tip: 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Neilinspain,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and sharing your experience with other travellers looking for luxury in Manchester. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will return to us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

From parking outside to leaving the staff were excellent. First class service in the bars and restaurant made our one night stay enjoyable. Few minor detractions, could do with a few more tea, milk and coffee(decaf) facilities. layers of dust here and there. Overall for the price not quite 5 star

Room Tip: have breakfast before 09.00am. After 10.00am its hopeless, queing start.s
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dav2ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for this feedback and your kind comments. I would like to reassure you and other readers that we have recently been re-accredited with our 5 star status.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night when visiting Manchester and the old Coronation Street studios which is just a 5 min walk from here. Also it is only 10 min stroll to major shopping areas and the Arndale Centre along with loads of great restaurants and bars in easy reach. Comfortable rooms and great service in general. Have given it only 4/5 due to lack of free parking (NCP will set you back £18 per 24 hrs) and the fact there was quite a long queue at reception a couple of times, but I would still highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your compliments on our product and location and for your recommendation. Due to our city centre location we do not have our own ca rpark but suggest the nearby NCP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business and was very impressed by the general quality of the room and common parts. They were not without fault, and the bathroom could have been better but overall it was a very comfortable night.

I hope that next time I visit I will have time to go to the spa which looked great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LondonSandybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and hope you will have the opportunity to sample the luxury of Sienna Spa on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing